What flight training costs at Las Vegas flight schools

2 schools train out of Las Vegas. All of them publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate.

One field: North Las Vegas Airport (VGT). Updated October 16, 2026 · All Nevada flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 2 of 2 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Las Vegas$15.2K$22.5K
  • Lowest in NVLargest fleet

    Las Vegas, NV·westairflighttraining.com

    $160/hr aircraft (wet)·$65/hr instructor

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source

    Published rates are wet. West Air prices its Cessna T182RG, the one retractable, at $310/hr WITH a CFI included, and publishes no airplane-only figure for it, so no complex rate is carried here and the commercial's ten complex hours are estimated at a regional average rather than a West Air figure. The $170 and $180 airplanes are published at $160/hr for students. 3% cash and 5% military discounts offered; no airport tax.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $17,665

    range $15.2K to $20.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planWest Air cost breakdown →
  • Las Vegas, NV·pilottraininglv.com

    $185/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$70/hr instructor

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source

    The site never says whether these rates include fuel. Instruction is $70/hr in Pilot Training's own aircraft, which is what this estimate uses, on the twin as well as the singles. Two higher tiers are published and not used: $85/hr for instruction in an aircraft Pilot Training does not own, which does not apply to its rental fleet, and $85/hr for ground or flight with the chief CFI, who is the school's multi-engine instructor. Regular ground-school attendees are not billed for pre-flight and post-flight briefings. Pilot Training also sells a 14-day accelerated private course at $17,600 ($9,800 instruction plus $7,800 for 40 hours in a Cherokee) with a $1,500 deposit, which this hourly estimate does not model.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $19,755

    range $17K to $22.5K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planPilot Training LV cost breakdown →

Estimates use the same method as every Nevada school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Flight school costs in Las Vegas, in numbers

Computed from the 2 Las Vegas schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses.

Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
$18,710
Published trainer rental, per hour
$160 to $185
Published instruction, per hour
$65 to $75
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
2 of 2

Airports with Las Vegas flight schools

Common questions about Las Vegas flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Las Vegas?

Across the 2 Las Vegas flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $160 to $185 per hour and instruction $65 to $75 per hour, checked as recently as October 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $17,665 and $19,755, with a median of $18,710. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.

What is the cheapest flight school in Las Vegas?

West Air Flight Training in Las Vegas publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Las Vegas schools listed here, $160 per hour for its Cessna 172M, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked October 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.

How current are these Las Vegas flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Las Vegas is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Which Las Vegas airports have flight schools?

One field carries the listed schools: North Las Vegas Airport (VGT) with 2. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Las Vegas without one.