Flight training at Durango Flight Instruction
Durango, CO · Rates partly published
No aircraft rate. Durango Flight Instruction publishes a $100/hr instructor rate and nothing for the airplanes, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 13, 2026 against Durango Flight Instruction site.
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL
- Website
- durangoflightinstruction.com
What is published
Durango Flight Instruction's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
Flight instruction: $100/hr
Instruction is $100/hr for flight and ground alike. The school supplies a Cessna 182 with analog gauges for training, billed by the Hobbs hour with a one-hour minimum, and never states the airplane rate.
Why there is no total
An estimate needs an aircraft rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With the airplanes unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Aircraft rateMissing from their site
The airplane is the biggest line on a training bill.
What to compare their answer against
Not Durango Flight Instruction's rates. The middle of what 13 Colorado schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $73 to $219 per hour.
- $165
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 13 schools with published rates.
- $60
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Durango Flight Instruction is not in it.
Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in Colorado. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Walt and Terry Barbo PPL Scholarship$2,500 · Opens Jan 1, 2027
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Durango Flight Instruction's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What is the hourly rate on your cheapest trainer, and which airplane is that?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site, and it is the largest line on your bill.
Is that rate wet or dry, meaning does it include fuel?Missing from their site
A dry rate and a wet rate are not comparable. Dry rates can run $40 to $60 an hour lower for the same airplane.
What does the Cessna 182 cost per hour, wet or dry?Missing from their site
The FAQ prices the instructor, describes the airplane and its one-hour minimum, and never gives its rate.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Durango Flight Instruction gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youIn the app
Track your training at Durango Flight Instruction.
Durango Flight Instruction is in the PilotBound app. Choose Durango Flight Instruction when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Nearby schools
13 Colorado schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Alpine Flight TrainingGypsum, CO · Checked October 12, 2026$215/hr$85/hr instruction
- Colorado Flight CenterGrand Junction, CO · Checked September 16, 2026$150/hr$70/hr instruction
- Colorado Sport PilotLoveland, CO · Checked September 16, 2026$195/hr$60/hr instruction
- Colorado's BEST Flight SchoolEnglewood, CO · Checked October 12, 2026$170/hr$65 to $75/hr instruction
- Cortez Flying ServiceCortez, CO · Checked September 16, 2026$130/hr$50/hr instruction
- Journeys AviationBoulder, CO · Checked October 12, 2026$153/hr$59 to $64/hr instruction
Sources
- That the school exists
- Durango Flight Instruction siteChecked September 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Durango Flight Instruction FAQChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Durango Flight Instruction? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What your aircraft rent for per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Durango Flight Instruction. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Colorado flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.

