Flight training at Rocket Air Flight Academy
Melbourne, FL · Rates partly published
No instructor rate. Rocket Air publishes a $335/hr aircraft rate and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 13, 2026 against Rocket Air Flight Academy site.
- Based at
- Melbourne Orlando International Airport(MLB)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- Multi · MEI
- Phone
- 321-345-3194
- Website
- rocketairacademy.com
What is published
Rocket Air's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Beechcraft Duchess | $335/hr | Plus tax. $325 in a ten-hour block, less in larger blocks. |
The published rates are for the Beechcraft Duchesses, a twin: $335/hr plus tax, falling to $325 in a ten-hour block and $305 in the largest block. No single-engine rate and no instructor rate.
Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Rocket Air's rates. The middle of what 43 Florida schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $105 to $380 per hour.
- $169
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 43 schools with published rates.
- $70
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Rocket Air is not in it.
Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 2 in Florida. Top awards reach $22,200.
- CFBAA Foundation ScholarshipAmount varies · Check dates
- James C. Ray Flight Training Scholarship (ACE)Amount varies · Polk County · Open · closes in 10 days
- 52
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Rocket Air's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What does a single-engine hour and an instructor hour cost?Missing from their site
Only the twin is priced, in blocks and before tax.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Rocket Air Flight Academy gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youIn the app
Nearby schools
One other school flies from Melbourne Orlando International Airport.
It does not publish a rate either, so that one is a phone call too. MLB is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Modine AviationPublishes no ratesMelbourne
43 Florida schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- A-Cent AviationJacksonville & Fernandina Beach, FL · Checked September 12, 2026$125/hr$65/hr instruction
- Aerosmith AviationPanama City, FL · Checked October 8, 2026$200/hr$75/hr instruction
- AMS Flight SchoolMilton, FL · Checked September 12, 2026$195/hr$60 to $65/hr instruction
- ATA Flight SchoolFort Lauderdale, FL · Checked October 8, 2026$175/hr$60/hr instruction
- Aviator Training CenterLantana, FL · Checked October 8, 2026$155/hr$60/hr instruction
- Bartow Flying ServiceBartow, FL · Checked October 8, 2026$150/hr$55/hr instruction
Sources
- That the school exists
- Rocket Air Flight Academy siteChecked September 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Rocket Air Flight Academy pricing pageChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Rocket Air Flight Academy? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Rocket Air Flight Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Florida flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


