What flight training costs at Daniel K. Inouye International (HNL)

2 schools train at Daniel K. Inouye International Airport, Honolulu. All of them publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate.

Updated October 16, 2026 · All Hawaii flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 2 of 2 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Daniel K. Inouye International$17.5K$24.4K
  • Lani Lea Flight School

    Part not stated
    Lowest in HI

    Honolulu, HI·lanileaaviation.com

    $205/hr aircraft (wet)·$55/hr instructor

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses Lani Lea's non-member wet rates. Lani Lea adds a $5.50/hr fuel charge to all training flights, disclosed here rather than added.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $20,325

    range $17.5K to $23.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planLani Lea cost breakdown →
  • Pacific Flight Academy

    Part not stated
    Largest fleet

    Honolulu, HI·pacificflightacademy.com

    $220/hr aircraft (wet)·$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 16, 2026·Source

    Rates shown are Pacific's visitor rates. A member rate roughly $35 to $70/hr lower exists but requires enrolling in the Professional Pilot Program and proving Hawaii residency, so it is not assumed here. All rates are wet and are subject to Hawaii State sales tax, which this estimate does not include. A minimum of 0.3 hours of ground instruction is added to every flight lesson, and visiting pilots may not check out solo, so all visitor flying is dual.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $21,405

    range $18.4K to $24.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planPacific Flight Academy cost breakdown →

Estimates use the same method as every Hawaii school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Flight school costs at Daniel K. Inouye International, in numbers

Computed from the 2 Daniel K. Inouye International schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses.

Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
$20,865
Published trainer rental, per hour
$205 to $220
Published instruction, per hour
$55 to $60
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
2 of 2

Common questions about flight schools at HNL

How much does flight school cost at Daniel K. Inouye International?

Across the 2 Daniel K. Inouye International flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $205 to $220 per hour and instruction $55 to $60 per hour, checked as recently as October 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $20,325 and $21,405, with a median of $20,865. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.

What is the cheapest flight school at Daniel K. Inouye International?

Lani Lea Flight School in Honolulu publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Daniel K. Inouye International schools listed here, $205 per hour for its Cessna 150, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked October 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.

How current are these Daniel K. Inouye International flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at Daniel K. Inouye International is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.