What flight training costs at Honolulu flight schools
3 schools train out of Honolulu. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.
2 fields: Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL) and Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (PHNL). Updated October 16, 2026 · All Hawaii flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Lani Lea Flight School
Part not statedLowest in HIHonolulu, HI·lanileaaviation.com
$205/hr aircraft (wet)·$55/hr instructor
Checked October 16, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Lani Lea's non-member wet rates. Lani Lea adds a $5.50/hr fuel charge to all training flights, disclosed here rather than added.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$20,325
range $17.5K to $23.2K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planLani Lea cost breakdown →Pacific Flight Academy
Part not statedLargest fleetHonolulu, HI·pacificflightacademy.com
$220/hr aircraft (wet)·$55/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Rates shown are Pacific's visitor rates. A member rate roughly $35 to $70/hr lower exists but requires enrolling in the Professional Pilot Program and proving Hawaii residency, so it is not assumed here. All rates are wet and are subject to Hawaii State sales tax, which this estimate does not include. A minimum of 0.3 hours of ground instruction is added to every flight lesson, and visiting pilots may not check out solo, so all visitor flying is dual.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$21,405
range $18.4K to $24.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPacific Flight Academy cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
George's Aviation Services
Part 61 & 141Honolulu, HI·PHNL·georgesaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
George's Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask George's Aviation
Estimates use the same method as every Hawaii school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Honolulu, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Honolulu schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $20,865
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $205 to $220
- Published instruction, per hour
- $55 to $60
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 2 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Honolulu
Part 141 flight schools in Honolulu
Airports with Honolulu flight schools
Daniel K. Inouye International Airport PHNL
Common questions about Honolulu flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Honolulu?
Across the 2 Honolulu flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $205 to $220 per hour and instruction $55 to $60 per hour, checked as recently as October 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $20,325 and $21,405, with a median of $20,865. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Honolulu?
Lani Lea Flight School in Honolulu publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Honolulu schools listed here, $205 per hour for its Cessna 150, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked October 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Honolulu flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Honolulu is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school in Honolulu is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Honolulu airports have flight schools?
2 fields carry the listed schools: Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL) with 2, and Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (PHNL) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Honolulu without one.
