Flight training at Barbers Point Flight School
Kapolei, HI · Rates partly published
No instructor rate. Barbers Point publishes rates for all 8 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 13, 2026 against Barbers Point Flight School site.
- Based at
- Kalaeloa Airport, John Rodgers Field(PHJR)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL · IR · CPL
- Phone
- 808-518-4661
- Website
- hawaiiflightschool.com
What is published
Barbers Point's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 172S Skyhawk (2022, NXi cockpit) | $246/hr | Wet. Full IFR. |
| Cessna 172S Skyhawk (2021) | $246/hr | Wet. Full IFR. |
| Cessna 172S Skyhawk (2020) | $246/hr | Wet. Full IFR. |
| Tecnam P2010 MkII (2019) | $236/hr | Wet. Full IFR. |
| Cessna 172R (1997) | $234/hr | Wet. Legacy cockpit, full IFR. |
| Cessna 172SP (1999) | $234/hr | Wet. Legacy cockpit, full IFR. |
| Tecnam P2008 light sport (2019) | $210/hr | Wet. Light sport, Garmin G3X Touch. |
| Cessna 150L (1973) | $198/hr | Wet. Legacy two-seater. |
Every rate is an "all-in" wet rate with no additional charges, per the fleet page, which also lists two 2026 Tecnam P-Mentors at $234/hr as coming in April 2026. No instructor rate appears anywhere on the site, and the training-process page says the school keeps a waitlist because of aircraft availability.
Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Barbers Point's rates. The middle of what 3 Hawaii schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $205 to $235 per hour.
- $220
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 3 schools with published rates.
- $55
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Barbers Point is not in it.
Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in Hawaii. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Aviation Pathways GrantUp to $10,000 · Check dates
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Barbers Point's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What does the instructor cost per hour, for flight and for ground?Missing from their site
Eight airplanes are priced to the dollar and the instructor is not priced at all.
How long is the waitlist right now?
The site says it keeps one because of aircraft availability, which decides when training can even start.
Are you Part 61 or Part 141?
Nothing on the site says, and the school also runs an FAA testing centre.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Barbers Point Flight School gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youIn the app
Nearby schools
3 Hawaii schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Lani Lea Flight SchoolHonolulu, HI · Checked October 16, 2026$205/hr$55/hr instruction
- Pacific Flight AcademyHonolulu, HI · Checked September 16, 2026$220/hr$55 to $60/hr instruction
- Tropicbird Flight ServiceKailua-Kona, HI · Checked October 12, 2026$235/hr$105 to $135/hr instruction
Sources
- That the school exists
- Barbers Point Flight School siteChecked September 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Barbers Point Flight School fleet and rates pageChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Barbers Point Flight School? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Barbers Point Flight School. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Hawaii flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


