Flight training at Wings Over Kauai
Lihue, HI · Rates not published
No aircraft rate or instructor rate or list of ratings taught. Wings Over Kauai publishes no rates at all, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 5, 2026 against Wings Over Kauai site.
- Based at
- Lihue Airport(PHLI)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Website
- wingsoverkauai.com
What is published
Wings Over Kauai publishes no rates.
Everything we could source about Wings Over Kauai is in the facts above: where it flies from, what it trains, and how to reach it. No aircraft rate and no instructor rate appear anywhere we can cite.
Checked September 5, 2026 against Wings Over Kauai site.
Why there is no total
An estimate needs an aircraft rate, an instructor rate and a list of ratings taught.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With the airplanes, instruction or which ratings it trains unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Aircraft rateMissing from their site
The airplane is the biggest line on a training bill.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
List of ratings taughtMissing from their site
Which ratings a school trains decides how far it can take you.
What to compare their answer against
Not Wings Over Kauai's rates. The middle of what 3 Hawaii schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $205 to $235 per hour.
- $220
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 3 schools with published rates.
- $55
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Wings Over Kauai is not in it.
Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in Hawaii. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Aviation Pathways GrantUp to $10,000 · Check dates
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Wings Over Kauai's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What is the hourly rate on your cheapest trainer, and which airplane is that?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site, and it is the largest line on your bill.
Is that rate wet or dry, meaning does it include fuel?Missing from their site
A dry rate and a wet rate are not comparable. Dry rates can run $40 to $60 an hour lower for the same airplane.
Which certificates and ratings do you train all the way through, and where would I have to go elsewhere?Missing from their site
This is the difference between one school for your whole path and switching partway.
Can I train to the Private Pilot certificate here, or only fly dual lessons and flight reviews?Missing from their site
The page names introductory and mountain and over-water dual instruction and flight reviews, and no certificate.
The $285 covers the airplane and the instructor together. What does each cost, and what would solo time cost?Missing from their site
Without the split there is no airplane rate and no instructor rate to compare with any other school.
How many days a week does the Cessna fly for instruction?
The page says the Cessna goes out only on certain days, which sets the pace before the rate does.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the numbers over and Wings Over Kauai gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youIn the app
Nearby schools
3 Hawaii schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Lani Lea Flight SchoolHonolulu, HI · Checked October 16, 2026$205/hr$55/hr instruction
- Pacific Flight AcademyHonolulu, HI · Checked September 16, 2026$220/hr$55 to $60/hr instruction
- Tropicbird Flight ServiceKailua-Kona, HI · Checked October 12, 2026$235/hr$105 to $135/hr instruction
Sources
- That the school exists
- Wings Over Kauai siteChecked September 5, 2026
- The rates above
- Wings Over Kauai flight school page (mobile site, http only)Checked September 5, 2026
Are you Wings Over Kauai? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says these are not stated on your site. Send us where each one is published and it shows here instead.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Wings Over Kauai. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Hawaii flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


