Rates partly published · DeKalb, IL

Flight training at Fly America

No instructor rate. Fly America publishes rates for all 2 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 13, 2026 against Fly America fleet page.

Based at
DeKalb Taylor Municipal Airport(DKB)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Phone
815.981.3307
Website
fly-america.com

Section 1What is published

Fly America's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

Fly America published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
1977 Cessna 152 (N24886)1977$155/hrTwo-seat, basic equipment. Published wet.
1981 Piper Warrior II (N8427G)1981$191/hrIFR certified, dual glideslope, Garmin 650 GPS. Published wet.

Airframes built 1977 to 1981. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 4, 2026.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not Fly America's rates. The middle of what 16 Illinois schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $130 to $430 per hour.
$159
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 16 schools with published rates.
$65

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Fly America is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Illinois-only awards in the directory yet.
51
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Fly America's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

815.981.3307
  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. What is the hourly instruction rate, and is ground billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    Both airplanes carry a published wet rate and nothing on the site prices the instructor.

  4. Which certificates do you train beyond the Private?

    AOPA lists this school as teaching instrument and multi-engine, but the site does not name a single course.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and Fly America gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5In the app

Track your training at Fly America.

Fly America is in the PilotBound app. Choose Fly America when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Section 6Nearby schools

16 Illinois schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 7Sources

That the school exists
Fly America fleet pageChecked September 13, 2026
The rates above
Fly America per-aircraft page (N24886)Checked September 13, 2026

Are you Fly America? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Fly America. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Illinois flight schools

All Illinois flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.