PilotBound estimate · Sparta, IL · Checked September 10, 2026

What flight training at Sparta Aero Services costs

Website ksarairport.com

Phone (618) 443-2002

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Wet. Garmin GTN 650, autopilot, IFR certified.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Sparta Aero Services

$18,455

range $15.9K$21K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Sparta Aero's published rates: Piper Archer at $175/hr + $60/hr instruction, checked September 10, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,295
at the hours students actually take$18,455

+$7,160 on Sparta Aero's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$15.9K$21K
Aircraft rental$12,600
Instruction$3,480
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$16,080
72 hrs in Piper Archer @ $175/hr + 58 dual @ $60/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Sparta Aero Services's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Sparta Aero Services's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Sparta Aero publishes

checked September 10, 2026
Piper Archer (N33083)1975Wet. Garmin GTN 650, autopilot, IFR certified.$175/hr wet
Piper Archer II (N9513C)1978Wet.$175/hr wet
Instructionstandard $60/hr · instrument instruction $70/hr · commercial instruction $70/hr$60 – $70/hr

Airframes built 1975 to 1978. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Sparta Aero's rate sheet is stamped "Prices effective May 01, 2023", so confirm before budgeting. Both airplanes are published wet at the same rate. Instruction is $60/hr for the Private, Recreational and Sport and for flight reviews, and $70/hr for the Instrument, Commercial, tailwheel and basic aerobatics. The rates are published on the airport's own site rather than a school site.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Sparta Aero does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,455.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Illinois-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $18,455All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,455 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Sparta Aero's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Sparta Aero Services?
Sparta Aero Services publishes $175 per hour for the Piper Archer and $60 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 10, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,455, in a range of $15,900 to $21,000. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Sparta Aero Services.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Sparta Aero Services?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Sparta Aero Services to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Sparta Aero Services a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Sparta Aero Services does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Sparta Aero Services's aircraft rates include fuel?
Sparta Aero Services publishes $175 per hour for the Piper Archer, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 10, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Sparta Aero Services?
Sparta Aero Services trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction runs $60 to $70 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Sparta Aero Services's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Sparta Aero Services's published Piper Archer and instructor rates (checked September 10, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Sparta Aero Services. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Sparta Aero? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Other Illinois flight schools

All Illinois flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.