Rates partly published · Goodland, KS
Flight training at Butterfly Aviation
No instructor rate or list of ratings taught. Butterfly publishes a $150/hr aircraft rate and nothing for instruction or which ratings it trains, so there is no total on this page.
Checked August 7, 2026 against Butterfly Aviation flight instruction and rentals page.
- Based at
- Renner Field, Goodland Municipal Airport(GLD)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Phone
- 785-890-7531
- Website
- butterflyaviation.net
Section 1What is published
Butterfly's own figures
Checked August 7, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 172N Skyhawk (1980) | $150/hr | 180 HP conversion, Garmin 430W, ADS-B in and out. $100/hr dry. |
One aircraft, priced both ways: $150/hr wet or $100/hr dry. The wet figure is used here because it is what an hour costs without buying fuel separately. Butterfly does not employ instructors: the site says to phone and it will put you in touch with one of the local instructors, and lists instructor rates as being "per instructor".
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate and a list of ratings taught.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction or which ratings it trains unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
List of ratings taughtMissing from their site
Which ratings a school trains decides how far it can take you.
What to compare their answer against
Not Butterfly's rates. The middle of what 4 Kansas schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $52 to $210 per hour.
- $167
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 4 schools with published rates.
- $57
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Butterfly is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Kansas-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Butterfly's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Which certificates and ratings do you train all the way through, and where would I have to go elsewhere?Missing from their site
This is the difference between one school for your whole path and switching partway.
Which local instructor is available, and what do they charge an hour?Missing from their site
Butterfly rents the aircraft and refers you to an independent CFI who sets their own price, so the instruction half of your budget cannot come from the website at all.
Which certificates can I actually train for here?Missing from their site
The site names none. It is one 172 on a small western Kansas field, so the realistic ceiling is worth establishing early.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the numbers over and Butterfly Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Section 6Nearby schools
4 Kansas schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Hetrick Air ServicesLawrence, KS · Checked September 8, 2026$167/hr$45/hr instruction
- Lyddon Aero CenterLiberal, KS · Checked September 8, 2026$52/hr$35/hr instruction
- Marsh Flying ServicesEl Dorado, KS · Checked September 12, 2026$146/hr$57/hr instruction
- Ortega Aviation ServicesWichita, KS · Checked September 8, 2026$210/hr$80/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- Butterfly Aviation flight instruction and rentals pageChecked August 7, 2026
- The rates above
- Butterfly Aviation flight instruction and rentals pageChecked August 7, 2026
Are you Butterfly Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says these are not stated on your site. Send us where each one is published and it shows here instead.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Butterfly Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Kansas flight schools
- Aviation Academy · Wichita
- BeckAir FBO · Great Bend
- Coulson Aviation · Great Bend
- Crotts Aircraft Service · Dodge City
- Empyrean Aero · Olathe
- Flex Air · Manhattan
- Flying Club of Kansas City · Olathe
- Hetrick Air Services · Lawrence
- Humboldt Helicopters · Humboldt
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


