What flight training costs at Wichita flight schools

4 schools train out of Wichita. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.

2 fields: Wichita Dwight D. Eisenhower National Airport (ICT) and Colonel James Jabara Airport (AAO). Updated October 12, 2026 · All Kansas flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 4 of 4 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Wichita$19K$25.2K
  • Wichita, KS·ortegaaviation.com

    $210/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)·$80/hr instructor

    Checked October 12, 2026·Source

    Each rate below is per Hobbs hour and a $20/hr fuel surcharge is added on top, stated separately for both aircraft. Instruction is a flat $80/hr. The school no longer lists a twin or multi-engine training.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $22,135

    range $19K to $25.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planOrtega Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Wichita, KS·AAO·aircapitalaviators.club

    $130/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published

    Checked October 4, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published

    Every rate is a member rate, wet, and subject to a monthly fuel surcharge and sales tax. Joining is $1,500 and dues are $95 a month. Membership is drawn from employees and former employees of approved aerospace companies, along with others the club accepts. Instructors are members who set their own rates and bill separately from the club.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Air Capital Aviators does not publish an instructor rate

    What to ask Air Capital Aviators
  • Aviation Academy

    Part not stated

    Wichita, KS·ICT·aviationacademyict.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Aviation Academy does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Aviation Academy
  • Wichita, KS·ICT·taefc.org

    No PilotBound estimate

    Textron Employees' Flying Club does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Textron Employees' Flying Club

Estimates use the same method as every Kansas school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Flight school costs in Wichita, in numbers

Computed from the 1 Wichita school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
$22,135
Published trainer rental, per hour
$210/hr
Published instruction, per hour
$80/hr
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
1 of 4

Lowest published trainer rates in Wichita

Airports with Wichita flight schools

Common questions about Wichita flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Wichita?

Ortega Aviation Services in Wichita is the one Wichita school here with a full published rate card: $210 per hour for its Cessna 172 Skyhawk and $80 per hour for instruction, checked October 12, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $22,135. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.

How current are these Wichita flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Wichita is October 12, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Wichita are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Which Wichita airports have flight schools?

2 fields carry the listed schools: Wichita Dwight D. Eisenhower National Airport (ICT) with 3, and Colonel James Jabara Airport (AAO) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Wichita without one.