Rates partly published · Louisville, KY
Flight training at Kentucky Flight Training Center
No instructor rate. KFTC publishes rates for all 6 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked October 13, 2026 against Kentucky Flight Training Center site.
- Based at
- Bowman Field(LOU)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL · IR · CPL · Multi · CFI · CFII
- Phone
- (502) 689-4688
- Website
- flykentucky.com
Section 1What is published
KFTC's own figures
Checked October 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Bristell NG5 light-sport (N76KY, 2024)2024 | $185/hr | Wet, taxes included. Dual Garmin G3X Touch. |
| Bristell NG5 light-sport (N710GG, 2017)2018 | $185/hr | Wet, taxes included. Dual Garmin G3X Touch. |
| Bristell NG5 light-sport (N183BL, 2018)2017 | $185/hr | Wet, taxes included. Rotax 912iS. |
| Bristell NG5 light-sport (N491BL, 2020)2020 | $185/hr | Wet, taxes included. Garmin G3X Touch. |
| Cessna 172M (N5256H, 1975) | $185/hr | Wet, taxes included. 160 hp. |
| Cessna 172S (N456SP, 1999)1999 | $185/hr | Wet, taxes included. 180 hp. |
Airframes built 1999 to 2024. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 13, 2026.
Every airplane is $185/hr wet with taxes included: four Bristell NG5 light-sport two-seaters and two Cessna 172s, a 1975 172M and a 1999 172S. A Redbird full-motion simulator is $100/hr. Instruction is priced only inside packages, a 20-hour technically advanced aircraft course at $2,800 and an airline program at $52,000 to $80,000, and never by the hour.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not KFTC's rates. The middle of what 6 Kentucky schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $145 to $230 per hour.
- $160
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 6 schools with published rates.
- $75
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. KFTC is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Kentucky-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what KFTC's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What does the instructor cost per hour for pay-as-you-go training, and is a discovery flight priced?Missing from their site
The aircraft page prices all six airplanes and the simulator, and the only instruction figures on the site are whole-course packages.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Kentucky Flight Training Center gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Section 6Nearby schools
2 other schools fly from Bowman Field.
1 of them publishes at least one rate. LOU is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Cardinal Wings AviationPublishes no ratesLouisville
- Louisville AviationPublishes a $176/hr aircraft rate, no instructor rateLouisville
6 Kentucky schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Belmar AviationGeorgetown, KY · Checked October 12, 2026$145/hr$75/hr instruction
- Career FlyersFalmouth, KY · Checked September 16, 2026$150/hr$60/hr instruction
- Final Approach AviationMurray, KY · Checked October 12, 2026$160/hr$55 to $60/hr instruction
- Kickstart AviationMayfield, KY · Checked October 13, 2026$160/hr$50 to $60/hr instruction
- NexGen AviationLexington, KY · Checked September 16, 2026$230/hr$90/hr instruction
- Wings Flight TrainingDanville, KY · Checked September 10, 2026$185/hr$92/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- Kentucky Flight Training Center siteChecked October 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Kentucky Flight Training Center aircraft pageChecked October 13, 2026
Are you Kentucky Flight Training Center? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Kentucky Flight Training Center. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Kentucky flight schools
- Belmar Aviation · Georgetown
- Cardinal Wings Aviation · Louisville
- Career Flyers · Falmouth
- Don Davis Aviation · Henderson
- Elizabethtown Flying Service · Elizabethtown
- Final Approach Aviation · Murray
- Fleming-Mason Aviation · Maysville
- Flywell Aviation · Bowling Green
- Glasgow Aviation · Glasgow
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


