What flight training costs at Waterford flight schools

4 schools train out of Waterford. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.

One field: Oakland County International Airport (PTK). Updated September 12, 2026 · All Michigan flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 4 of 4 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Waterford$34.2K$45.4K
  • Apogee Air

    Part not stated

    Waterford, MI·flyapogee.com

    $395/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)·$155/hr instructor

    Checked September 12, 2026·Source

    Apogee publishes DRY rates: fuel is billed on top, and Apogee's own current fuel surcharge is $120/hr for the SR20, $170/hr for the SR22T and $600/hr for the SF50. A 6% Michigan use tax is charged on top as well. This estimate uses the published dry rates only and adds neither. Apogee also flies from Grand Rapids under the same rate card.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $39,805

    range $34.2K to $45.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planApogee cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • American Aviation

    Part not stated

    Waterford, MI·PTK

    No PilotBound estimate

    American Aviation does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask American Aviation
  • Waterford, MI·PTK·dctaviation.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    DCT Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask DCT Aviation
  • Waterford, MI·PTK

    No PilotBound estimate

    Elite Jet Center does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Elite Jet Center

Estimates use the same method as every Michigan school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Flight school costs in Waterford, in numbers

Computed from the 1 Waterford school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
$39,805
Published trainer rental, per hour
$395/hr
Published instruction, per hour
$155 to $225
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
1 of 4

Lowest published trainer rates in Waterford

Airports with Waterford flight schools

Common questions about Waterford flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Waterford?

Apogee Air in Waterford is the one Waterford school here with a full published rate card: $395 per hour for its Cirrus SR20 G7 and $155 per hour for instruction, checked September 12, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $39,805. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.

How current are these Waterford flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Waterford is September 12, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Waterford are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Which Waterford airports have flight schools?

One field carries the listed schools: Oakland County International Airport (PTK) with 4. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Waterford without one.