Rates partly published · Maryland Heights, MO
Flight training at Gateway Flight Training
No instructor rate. Gateway publishes rates for all 4 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked August 13, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Gateway Flight Training at 1H0.
- Based at
- Creve Coeur Airport(1H0)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Phone
- 314-780-7899
- Website
- gatewayflight.com
Section 1What is published
Gateway's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Piper Warrior II PA28-161 (two aircraft) | $140/hrdry | Four seats, 160 hp. The trainer. |
| Beechcraft Sundowner C23 | $140/hrdry | Four seats, 180 hp. |
| Piper Arrow PA28R-180 | $150/hrdry | Retractable, and 15 hours of complex time are required before solo. |
| Beechcraft Debonair 35-C33 | $195/hrdry | Four seats, 235 hp. High performance. |
Gateway's rates are stated DRY, so fuel is billed on top of every figure here, which is unusual in this directory and makes these rates look cheaper than they are against a wet-rate school. $140/hr covers its instrument-capable trainers, $150/hr the complex Arrow, and $195/hr the Debonair. A Cessna 310R is listed with no price yet.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Gateway's rates. The middle of what 6 Missouri schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $81 to $184 per hour.
- $150
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 6 schools with published rates.
- $65
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Gateway is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Missouri-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Gateway's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Your published rates are dry. Roughly what does fuel add per hour on the trainer?
The published figures leave fuel out, so they understate the real hourly cost until you add it.
What does instruction cost, and what does fuel add to the dry rate?Missing from their site
Both halves matter here: the instruction rate is unpublished AND the aircraft rates exclude fuel, so the quoted figure is not the hourly cost.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Gateway Flight Training gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Section 6Nearby schools
2 other schools fly from Creve Coeur Airport.
None of them publishes a rate, so every one is a phone call. 1H0 is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Independent Aviation SolutionsPublishes no ratesMaryland Heights
- Piston AviationPublishes no ratesSt. Louis
6 Missouri schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Columbia Jet CenterColumbia, MO · Checked August 20, 2026$150/hr$60/hr instruction
- EAS Flight TrainingAurora, MO · Checked September 12, 2026$184/hr$65 to $75/hr instruction
- Jefferson City Flying ServiceJefferson City, MO · Checked September 9, 2026$120/hr$65/hr instruction
- R&R AviationFarmington, MO · Checked September 10, 2026$150/hr$50/hr instruction
- Rebel AviationLiberty, MO · Checked September 12, 2026$81/hr$50/hr instruction
- St. Charles Flying ServiceSt. Charles, MO · Checked September 8, 2026$168.2/hr$75/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- AOPA flight school finder, Gateway Flight Training at 1H0Checked August 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Gateway Flight Training rentals pageChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Gateway Flight Training? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Gateway Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Missouri flight schools
- ATD Flight Systems · Kansas City
- Cape Air Charter · Scott City
- Cape Copters · Cape Girardeau
- Chasaero · Warsaw
- Columbia Jet Center · Columbia
- EAS Flight Training · Aurora
- Elite Aviation · Chesterfield
- ExcelAir8 · Columbia
- Fun Flight Aviation · De Soto
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


