PilotBound estimate · Anaconda, MT · Checked September 5, 2026
What flight training at Angle of Attack AEROnautics costs
Website aoaaeronautics.com
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Fuel basis not stated.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Angle of Attack AEROnautics
range $13.1K – $17.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on AoA AEROnautics's published rates: Cessna 172 at $135/hr + $55/hr instruction, checked September 5, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$5,750 on AoA AEROnautics's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Angle of Attack AEROnautics's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Angle of Attack AEROnautics's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
What AoA AEROnautics publishes
checked September 5, 2026The Cessna 172 is $135/hr, instruction $55/hr and the AATD simulator $85/hr, all from the school's rates block; wet or dry is not stated. The Cessna 310R is sold as a packaged multi-engine add-on rather than by the hour and is not priced here. Training is by appointment only. Butte Aviation, rated, shares the same Butte address.
Not published: the examiner's checkride fee, whether rates include fuel. Listed as missing rather than guessed.
Paying for it
Two ways to cover $15,285.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Scholarships you could apply forTop awards reach $22,200. Every dollar won is a dollar you never finance.
- 68
- Lenders that cover $15,285All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Next leg
Turn this into a plan.
Your $15,285 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planWhat to ask when you call
The marked ones are what AoA AEROnautics's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Estimates use Angle of Attack AEROnautics's published Cessna 172 and instructor rates (checked September 5, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. An honest range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Angle of Attack AEROnautics. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Angle of Attack AEROnautics
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Angle of Attack AEROnautics?
- Angle of Attack AEROnautics publishes $135 per hour for the Cessna 172 and $55 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 5, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,285, in a range of $13,100 to $17,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Angle of Attack AEROnautics.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Angle of Attack AEROnautics?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Angle of Attack AEROnautics to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Angle of Attack AEROnautics a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Angle of Attack AEROnautics does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Angle of Attack AEROnautics's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Angle of Attack AEROnautics publishes $135 per hour for the Cessna 172, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 5, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Angle of Attack AEROnautics?
- Angle of Attack AEROnautics trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction is $55 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Angle of Attack AEROnautics's own published rates.
Other Montana flight schools
- A-Tec Aircraft Maintenance Center · Hamilton
- Backcountry Flying Experience · Bigfork
- Bitterroot Aviation · Stevensville
- Blue Goose Aviation · Polson
- Bridger Aviation Services · Three Forks
- Butte Aviation · Butte
- Cloud Catcher Aviation · Great Falls
- Dillon Flying Service · Dillon
- Dramstad Flying Service · Helena
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.