Rates not published · North Las Vegas, NV

Flight training at Desert Dogs Aviation

No website or aircraft rate or instructor rate. Desert Dogs publishes no rates at all, so there is no total on this page.

Checked August 12, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Desert Dogs Aviation at KVGT.

Based at
North Las Vegas Airport(VGT)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Phone
702-882-3694

Section 1What is published

Desert Dogs publishes no rates.

Everything we could source about Desert Dogs is in the facts above: where it flies from, what it trains, and how to reach it. No aircraft rate and no instructor rate appear anywhere we can cite.

Checked August 12, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Desert Dogs Aviation at KVGT.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With anything, the airplanes or instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • WebsiteMissing from their site

    There is nothing to read before you call, so the phone is the only way to get a rate.

  • Aircraft rateMissing from their site

    The airplane is the biggest line on a training bill.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not Desert Dogs's rates. The middle of what 10 Nevada schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $160 to $235 per hour.
$175
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 10 schools with published rates.
$70

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Desert Dogs is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Nevada-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Desert Dogs's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

702-882-3694
  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. What is the hourly rate on your cheapest trainer, and which airplane is that?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site, and it is the largest line on your bill.

  4. Is that rate wet or dry, meaning does it include fuel?Missing from their site

    A dry rate and a wet rate are not comparable. Dry rates can run $40 to $60 an hour lower for the same airplane.

  5. What does each airplane rent for per hour, and what does instruction cost?Missing from their site

    There is no website to read, so every figure has to come from this call.

  6. Is there a website or a rate sheet you can email me?Missing from their site

    The address AOPA lists is a Google business.site page, and Google retired that product, so the link is dead. A current page or PDF would let you compare before committing.

  7. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  8. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  9. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the numbers over and Desert Dogs Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5Nearby schools

7 other schools fly from North Las Vegas Airport.

5 of them publish at least one rate. VGT is the identifier to give when you ask.

10 Nevada schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

  • 702 AviationNorth Las Vegas, NV · Checked September 5, 2026
    $170/hr$55/hr instruction
  • All In AviationHenderson and Las Vegas, NV · Checked September 5, 2026
    $235/hr$110/hr instruction
  • Biggest Little Flight SchoolReno, NV · Checked September 10, 2026
    $169/hr$70 to $80/hr instruction
  • ChrisAir AviationNorth Las Vegas, NV · Checked September 10, 2026
    $160/hr$80 to $100/hr instruction
  • El Aero ServicesElko, NV · Checked September 10, 2026
    $165/hr$50/hr instruction
  • Great Basin AviationReno, NV · Checked September 10, 2026
    $185/hr$80 to $90/hr instruction

Section 6Sources

That the school exists
AOPA flight school finder, Desert Dogs Aviation at KVGTChecked August 12, 2026

Are you Desert Dogs Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says these are not stated on your site. Send us where each one is published and it shows here instead.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Desert Dogs Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Nevada flight schools

All Nevada flight schoolsAll North Las Vegas flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.