What flight training costs at Fairfield flight schools
3 schools train out of Fairfield. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.
2 fields: Essex County Airport (CDW) and Morristown Municipal Airport (MMU). Updated October 16, 2026 · All New Jersey flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Costanzo Air
Part not statedLowest in NJFairfield, NJ·costanzoair.com
$205/hr aircraft (wet)·$105/hr instructor
Checked October 16, 2026·Source
Rates are wet (fuel included). The site publishes rates by model, not by tail number.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$23,225
range $20K to $26.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCostanzo Air cost breakdown →P6 Aviation
Part not statedLargest fleetFairfield, NJ·p6aviation.com
$395/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)·$150/hr instructor
Checked October 8, 2026·Source
Aircraft rates exclude consumables, which are billed at market price by location. Instruction is $150/hr with a TCI, $185/hr with a Platinum CSIP, and $165/hr in non-fleet aircraft. Credit card payments add a 3.5% service charge; deposits of $5,000+ by cash or ACH accrue a 3% credit. The Cirrus G7 simulator is $175/hr, $150/hr in 25-hour blocks.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$39,515
range $34K to $45K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planP6 cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Air Fleet Training Systems
Part not statedFairfield, NJ·CDW·airfleettraining.com
No PilotBound estimate
Air Fleet does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Air Fleet
Estimates use the same method as every New Jersey school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Fairfield, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Fairfield schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $31,370
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $205 to $395
- Published instruction, per hour
- $105 to $150
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 2 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Fairfield
Airports with Fairfield flight schools
Essex County Airport CDW
Flight schools in other New Jersey cities.
All New Jersey flight schools →Flight school costs by state →
Common questions about Fairfield flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Fairfield?
Across the 2 Fairfield flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $205 to $395 per hour and instruction $105 to $150 per hour, checked as recently as October 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $23,225 and $39,515, with a median of $31,370. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Fairfield?
Costanzo Air in Fairfield publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Fairfield schools listed here, $205 per hour for its Cessna 172N/M, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked October 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Fairfield flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Fairfield is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school in Fairfield is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Fairfield airports have flight schools?
2 fields carry the listed schools: Essex County Airport (CDW) with 2, and Morristown Municipal Airport (MMU) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Fairfield without one.
