Published rates, sourced · Updated August 31, 2026
What flight training costs at New Jersey flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 9 New Jersey schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $90 to $400 per hour and instruction $40 to $150, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $11,186 and $39,515, with a median of $17,849.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across New Jersey
Alexandria Field
Part not statedLowest in NJPittstown, NJ·alexandriafield.com
Published rates
$90/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$40/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Aircraft rates carry cents and are quoted plus tax. Instruction is $40/hr for primary training and $45/hr for instrument and advanced; ground instruction is $40/hr.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$11,186
range $9.6K – $12.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAlexandria cost breakdown →Solberg Airport Flight School
Part not statedReadington, NJ·solbergairport.com
Published rates
$130/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$75/hr instructor
Checked August 16, 2026·Source
Instruction is tiered: Solberg's published rate schedule lists $75/hr for primary instruction and $85/hr for instrument and advanced, so the Instrument, Commercial and CFI legs here price at $85/hr. The airplane rates come from the school's undated per-tail webpage; its dated PDF schedule (effective March 1, 2025) lists higher figures ($145 / $185 / $205) without tail numbers, so confirm which governs before you budget.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,081
range $13.8K – $18.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSolberg cost breakdown →Somerset Air Service
Part not statedBedminster, NJ·somersetairport.com
Published rates
$145/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Instruction is $65/hr for primary training and ground, $75/hr for advanced instruction after the Private, and $50/hr for online ground. Owner-aircraft instruction is $80/hr. Headsets rent for $2 per flight.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,585
range $14.3K – $18.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSomerset cost breakdown →Beyond Aviation
Part not statedLumberton, NJ·beyondaviationfs.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$80/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Instruction is a flat $80/hr across the fleet. A Gleim BATD simulator is free to students. Fleet rates come from the site's animated counters, which render as $0 to a plain reader.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,815
range $15.3K – $20.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planBeyond cost breakdown →Certified Flyers
Part not statedLargest fleetMorristown, NJ·certifiedflyers.com
Published rates
$140/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$93/hr instructor
Checked August 8, 2026·Source
Rates shown are the standard (retail) hourly rates. Lower block rates require $1,500 or 10 hours on account before flying. Instruction rates are the cash-discount rates.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,849
range $15.4K – $20.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCertified Flyers cost breakdown →609 Aviation Flight Training
Part not statedRio Grande, NJ·609aviation.com
Published rates
$205/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Rates are published wet. Instruction is $65/hr, or $75/hr in a non-609 aircraft. A deposit-match program replaces block discounts: upfront training deposits of $10,000 to $20,000 earn a 3 to 5% matching credit.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$20,905
range $18K – $23.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my plan609 Aviation cost breakdown →Costanzo Air
Part not statedFairfield, NJ·costanzoair.com
Published rates
$205/hr aircraft (wet)+$105/hr instructor
Checked August 8, 2026·Source
Rates are wet (fuel included). The site publishes rates by model, not by tail number.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$23,225
range $20K – $26.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCostanzo Air cost breakdown →Elite Flight Experience
Part not statedWall Township, NJ·eliteflightexperience.com
Published rates
$400/hr aircraft (wet)+$140/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Rates are wet (fuel and oil included), billed on Hobbs time, with a fuel surcharge if fuel exceeds $7.40/gal. Instruction is tiered: $140/hr with a Training Center Instructor, $150/hr Senior TCI or CSIP, $200/hr Platinum CSIP, with a two-hour minimum and half- or full-day blocks encouraged. Renter's insurance is required. Minimum rental charges apply to long reservations.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$39,295
range $33.8K – $44.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planElite cost breakdown →P6 Aviation
Part not statedFairfield, NJ·p6aviation.com
Published rates
$395/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+$150/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Aircraft rates exclude consumables, which are billed at market price by location. Instruction is $150/hr with a TCI, $185/hr with a Platinum CSIP, and $165/hr in non-fleet aircraft. Credit card payments add a 3.5% service charge; deposits of $5,000+ by cash or ACH accrue a 3% credit. The Cirrus G7 simulator is $175/hr, $150/hr in 25-hour blocks.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$39,515
range $34K – $45K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planP6 cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Aero Flight School
Part not statedLincoln Park, NJ·N07·aeroflightschool.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Aero does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Air Fleet Training Systems
Part not statedFairfield, NJ·CDW·airfleettraining.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Air Fleet does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Air-Mods Flight Academy
Part not statedRobbinsville, NJ·N87·airmodsflightacademy.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Air-Mods does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about New Jersey flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in New Jersey?
- Across the 9 New Jersey flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $90 to $400 per hour and instruction $40 to $150 per hour, checked as recently as August 31, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $11,186 and $39,515, with a median of $17,849. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in New Jersey?
- Alexandria Field in Pittstown publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 9 New Jersey schools listed here, $90 per hour for its Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 31, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these New Jersey flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in New Jersey is August 31, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 20 more schools in New Jersey are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.