Published rates, sourced · Updated August 8, 2026

What flight training costs at Alaska flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 4 Alaska schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $150 to $170 per hour and instruction $60 to $80, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $17,375 and $18,675, with a median of $17,670.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 12 of 12 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Alaska

lowest $14.9Khighest $21.3K
  • Lowest in AK

    Soldotna, AK·marcalaska.org

    Published rates

    $160/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$60/hr instructor

    Checked August 6, 2026·Source

    Every rate comes from MARC's 2025 flight school brochure, a PDF rather than a web page, and it does not say whether fuel is included. Instruction is $60/hr for flight AND ground, rising to $70/hr for multi-engine. An IFR simulator is $25/hr alone or $60/hr with an instructor, and is not modeled. Pre-purchasing ten hours of aircraft rental earns a $100 discount. A separate eleven-week ground school is $600 including materials and a flight bag, and runs twice a year for the Private and once for the Instrument. An introductory lesson is $170 and covers an hour of flight and an hour of ground.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,375

    range $14.9K$19.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planMARC cost breakdown →
  • Blue River Aviation

    Part 61 & 141
    Largest fleet

    Palmer, AK·blueriveraviation.com

    Published rates

    $150/hr aircraft (wet)+$75/hr instructor

    Checked August 8, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,525

    range $15.1K$20K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planBlue River cost breakdown →
  • Anchorage, AK·ak.angelaviation.com

    Published rates

    $150/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$80/hr instructor

    Checked August 6, 2026·Source

    Both aircraft are published twice, at an hourly rate with no minimum and a lower BLOCK rate on a 10-hour minimum; the no-minimum figures are modeled. Instruction is $80/hr. A Redbird FMX simulator is $50/hr with no minimum and no block rate, and is not modeled. Applicable taxes are excluded, and every rental requires a checkout charged at the current hourly rate, which is a real first-flight cost most schools do not state. Further rates of $220, $380 and $400 appear on the site against aircraft this listing could not identify, so the fleet is wider than the two aeroplanes shown here.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,815

    range $15.3K$20.3K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planAngel Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Anchorage (Lake Hood), AK·arcticflyers.net

    Published rates

    $170/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked August 8, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,675

    range $16.1K$21.3K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planArctic Flyers cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Birch Creek Aviation

    Part not stated

    Anchorage, AK·MRI·birchcreekaviation.com

    Published rates

    $140/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked August 6, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published

    Every aeroplane is published at a standard rate and a lower CLUB rate, roughly $10/hr apart, and the site does not say whether fuel is included. Birch Creek also sells whole-certificate packages rather than hourly instruction: a Private is quoted at $10,400 in the 172M or $8,800 in the 150F, an Instrument at $8,400, a Commercial at $4,725 or $3,550, a multi-engine add-on and CFI, CFII, MEI and a float rating each at their own price. A further aircraft appears at $375/hr standard and $365/hr club.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Birch Creek does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Elmendorf Aero Club

    Part not stated

    Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, AK·EDF

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Elmendorf Aero Club does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Fly Around Alaska

    Part not stated

    Palmer, AK·PAQ·flyaroundalaska.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Fly Around Alaska does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • FLY8MA Pilot Lodge

    Part not stated

    Big Lake, AK·BGQ·fly8ma.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    FLY8MA does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Kenai Aviation

    Part not stated

    Kenai, AK·ENA·kenaiaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Kenai Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Land & Sea Aviation

    Part not stated

    Anchorage, AK·MRI·landandseaaviationalaska.com

    Published rates

    $145/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked August 6, 2026·Source·2 aircraft published

    Both aeroplanes are published WET. A $300 annual membership takes the 172P down by $20/hr, so it pays for itself in fifteen hours. The site also quotes a dual-only special on a brand-new technically advanced aeroplane, and that figure bundles the aircraft and the instructor together rather than pricing either.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Land & Sea does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • ProFlite of Alaska

    Part not stated

    Fairbanks, AK·FAI·proflitealaska.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    ProFlite does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Van Bavel Aviation

    Part not stated

    Soldotna, AK·SXQ·akcfi.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Van Bavel does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Alaska flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Alaska?
Across the 4 Alaska flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $150 to $170 per hour and instruction $60 to $80 per hour, checked as recently as August 8, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $17,375 and $18,675, with a median of $17,670. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Alaska?
Angel Aviation Alaska in Anchorage publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 4 Alaska schools listed here, $150 per hour for its Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 6, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Alaska flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Alaska is August 8, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 8 more schools in Alaska are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.