Published rates, sourced · Updated August 6, 2026
What flight training costs at Mississippi flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 4 Mississippi schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $119 to $159 per hour and instruction $65 to $85, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $14,713 and $18,753, with a median of $17,670.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Mississippi
New Heights Aviation
Part not statedLowest in MSLargest fleetBatesville, MS·flynha.com
Published rates
$119/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor
Checked August 6, 2026·Source
Instruction is $65/hr for ground and flight alike, and $75/hr if you fly your own aeroplane, which is the reverse of the usual arrangement and worth knowing if you own one. The site does not say whether rental includes fuel. A simulator is $45/hr and is not modeled. New Heights states that prices exclude checkride fees, and makes a point of not running the clock unnecessarily.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,713
range $12.7K – $16.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planNew Heights cost breakdown →Hesler-Noble Flying School
Part not statedLaurel, MS·learntoflylaurel.com
Published rates
$145/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$75/hr instructor
Checked August 6, 2026·Source
STANDARD rates are modeled. Hesler-Noble also publishes a block-commitment tier that takes the 172 to $165/hr and instruction to $65/hr, and it works both through a worked example so the saving is visible rather than implied. Instruction is the same price for flight and ground. The site does not say whether rental includes fuel.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,165
range $14.8K – $19.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planHesler-Noble cost breakdown →Sky Shark Flight Academy
Part 61Kiln, MS·skysharkfa.com
Published rates
$155/hr aircraft (wet)+$80/hr instructor
Checked August 6, 2026·Source
Rates are published WET, and STANDARD rates are modeled. Sky Shark also runs two block tiers that cut BOTH the aeroplane and the instructor: five hours takes them to $150 and $75, ten hours to $145 and $70, which the school describes as saving $20 an hour on a dual lesson. Flight reviews and instrument proficiency checks are offered alongside the certificate courses.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,175
range $15.6K – $20.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSky Shark cost breakdown →Apollo Flight Training
Part 61Gulfport, MS·flyapollo.com
Published rates
$159/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$85/hr instructor
Checked August 6, 2026·Source
Both rates are published twice, retail and block, and the RETAIL figures are modeled: the aeroplane is $159/hr retail against $139/hr on a block, and instruction is $85/hr retail against $72/hr. Blocks are bought in $1,875 increments, so the discount costs a substantial commitment up front. The site does not say whether fuel is included. Apollo operates under Part 61 using a Part 141 curriculum, which is not the same as holding a Part 141 certificate. A multi-engine rating is advertised and no twin is published, so the multi legs stay hidden.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,753
range $16.1K – $21.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planApollo cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Air Venture Flight Center
Part not statedOlive Branch, MS·KOLV·air-venture.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
Checked August 6, 2026·Source
Air Venture publishes a $149 discovery flight and refers to "our standard rate sheet" for scenic flights without ever showing it. No aircraft or instruction rate appears anywhere reachable. Its fleet is described only as Cessna, Piper and Beechcraft, with no model named.
No PilotBound estimate
Air Venture does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Aspire Aviation
Part not statedMoss Point, MS·KPQL·aspireaviation.net
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Aspire does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Cloud Nine Aviation
Part not statedPicayune, MS·KMJD
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Cloud Nine does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Cool Breeze Aviation
Part not statedKiln, MS·M13
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Cool Breeze does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Cotton Belt Aviation
Part not statedGreenwood, MS·KGWO
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Cotton Belt does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →FletchAire
Part not statedDiamondhead, MS·66Y
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
FletchAire does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Hutton Aviation
Part not statedJackson, MS·KHKS·huttonaviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
Checked August 6, 2026·Source
Hutton's fleet page names both aeroplanes and prices neither. Its shop sells discovery flights at $95 for the 150 and $145 for the 172, both discounted from higher list prices, and those are introductory products rather than rental rates. A blog post about buying the Cessna 150 does mention it renting at $150 per hour wet; that is one sentence in an article rather than a rate card, so it is described here and not recorded as a rate.
No PilotBound estimate
Hutton does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Keesling Aircraft Rental & Training
Part not statedStarkville, MS·KSTF·kartaviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
KART does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Mississippi flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Mississippi?
- Across the 4 Mississippi flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $119 to $159 per hour and instruction $65 to $85 per hour, checked as recently as August 6, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $14,713 and $18,753, with a median of $17,670. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Mississippi?
- New Heights Aviation in Batesville publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 4 Mississippi schools listed here, $119 per hour for its Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 6, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Mississippi flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Mississippi is August 6, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 12 more schools in Mississippi are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.