Published rates, sourced · Updated September 8, 2026

What flight training costs at Wyoming flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 4 Wyoming schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $155 to $185 per hour and instruction $55 to $100, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $17,595 and $19,465, with a median of $18,672.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 10 of 10 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Wyoming

lowest $15.1Khighest $22.2K
  • Atlas Flight School

    Part not stated
    Lowest in WYLargest fleet

    Casper, WY·atlasflightschool.com

    Published rates

    $155/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    The site does not say whether rental rates include fuel, so confirm before budgeting. Instruction is $70/hr in the singles but $100/hr in the Aztec twin. A Redbird MCX simulator is $75/hr single-engine and $125/hr multi-engine, and a headset rents for $10 a flight. Neither is modeled.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,595

    range $15.1K$20.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planAtlas cost breakdown →
  • The Flying School

    Part 61 & 141

    Cheyenne, WY·theflyingschool.com

    Published rates

    $172/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    Aircraft rates are the Cheyenne fleet page's wet hourly rates. The instructor rate comes from the school's Private Pilot quote PDF, which also carries an older $180 airplane figure that the fleet page has since replaced. The Baron is priced wet with no separate multi-engine instructor rate published. A Loveland, Colorado base has its own fleet and is not priced here.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,949

    range $15.4K$20.5K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planThe Flying School cost breakdown →
  • Afton, WY·flywyo.com

    Published rates

    $180/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,395

    range $16.7K$22.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planWestern Wyoming cost breakdown →
  • Choice Aviation

    Part 61 & 141

    Cody, WY·choiceaviation.com

    Published rates

    $185/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    Rates are not stated as wet or dry, so confirm before budgeting. Instruction is tiered: $65/hr for the Private, Instrument and Commercial, and $80/hr for the CFI, CFII and MEI. Ground instruction is charged at the same two rates. A flight simulator is $75/hr, and a Redbird session is quoted at $150/hr with the instructor included. Multi-engine training in the Cessna 310 is quoted at $545/hr WITH the instructor included, and the site also shows $465/hr and an effective $415/hr elsewhere for the same aircraft, so ask which applies before planning a multi budget.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,465

    range $16.7K$22.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planChoice Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Bighorn Airways

    Part not stated

    Sheridan, WY·SHR·bighornairways.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Bighorn Airways does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Fremont Flight

    Part not stated

    Lander, WY·LND·fremontflight.com

    Published rates

    $140/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    Members only. The Cessna 172 is $140/hr on the basic tier ($180/month or $1,800/year) and $120/hr on the premium tier ($300/month or $3,000/year), which also opens the rest of the fleet. Military and first-responder discounts are offered without figures. No instructor rate is published and the page does not say whether fuel is included.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Fremont Flight does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Laramie Flying Club

    Part not stated

    Laramie, WY·LAR·laramieflyingclub.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Laramie Flying Club does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Rawlins, WY·northeast-planes.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    NorthEast Planes does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Casper, WY·CPR·rising-wings.com

    Published rates

    $167/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·7 aircraft published

    Rates are wet, billed per Hobbs hour, and include fuel and oil; fuel bought away from Casper is reimbursed against a receipt up to the local rate. The Cirrus is the exception and the trap: it is published at $369/hr PLUS $130/hr of consumables (fuel, oil and oxygen, with TKS de-icing fluid charged on top), so its true hourly cost is closer to $499 than $369. Discounts are offered to military personnel and first responders, and a flat-fee subscription exists for the simulator.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Rising Wings does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Sheridan Pilots 307

    Part not stated

    Sheridan, WY·SHR·sheridanpilots307.com

    Published rates

    $185/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·3 aircraft published

    The three Cessnas are published at $185/hour WITH FUEL, and block rates are available. Two further aircraft carry no price at all: a Bellanca Decathlon (N307MJ) and a Beechcraft 58 Baron twin (N78RE), so multi-engine training here cannot be costed. Simulators are priced separately: a Redbird LD at $50/hr for adults and an X-Plane 11 setup at $25/hr, free for under-16s.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Sheridan Pilots 307 does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight school costs in Wyoming, in numbers

Computed from the 4 Wyoming schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 6 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$18,672
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 4 schools with published rates
$155 to $185
Published trainer rental, per hour
$55 to $100
Published instruction, per hour
4 of 10
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Wyoming

Part 141 flight schools in Wyoming

Airports with more than one Wyoming flight school

Discovery flights in Wyoming

3 Wyoming schools publish a discovery flight price, median $150. See each price with its source

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Wyoming flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Wyoming?
Across the 4 Wyoming flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $155 to $185 per hour and instruction $55 to $100 per hour, checked as recently as September 8, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $17,595 and $19,465, with a median of $18,672. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Wyoming?
Atlas Flight School in Casper publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 4 Wyoming schools listed here, $155 per hour for its Cessna 172N, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Wyoming flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Wyoming is September 8, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 6 more schools in Wyoming are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.