Published rates, sourced · Updated September 10, 2026

What flight training costs at Oregon flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 8 Oregon schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $125 to $220 per hour and instruction $30 to $80, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $14,555 and $21,985, with a median of $16,648.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 1–12 of 38 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Oregon

lowest $12.5Khighest $25.1K
  • Lowest in OR

    Roseburg, OR·westernoregonaviation.com

    Published rates

    $145/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$30/hr instructor

    Checked August 17, 2026·Source

    Western Oregon publishes a Private Pilot budget rather than a rate card: 20 hours dual at $175/hr and 20 hours solo at $145/hr. The $30/hr instruction rate used here is the difference between them, not a figure the school prints. The site does not name its aircraft or say whether fuel is included.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $14,555

    range $12.5K$16.6K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planWestern Oregon cost breakdown →
  • Twin Oaks Airpark

    Part not stated
    Largest fleet

    Hillsboro, OR·flytwinoaks.com

    Published rates

    $125/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses Twin Oaks' published wet rates. It does not include the current hourly fuel surcharge ($5 to $20 depending on aircraft), which Twin Oaks bills separately per their rate sheet.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $15,435

    range $13.3K$17.6K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planTwin Oaks cost breakdown →
  • Astoria Aviation

    Part not stated

    Warrenton, OR·flyastoria.com

    Published rates

    $135/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked August 17, 2026·Source

    Astoria prices the VFR Cherokee at $155/hr on its home page and $145/hr on its pilot services page; this estimate uses the $155. Instruction is $65/hr including in an aircraft you bring yourself. A flight review or instrument proficiency check is a flat $250 for a two-hour session. The site does not say whether fuel is included.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $15,865

    range $13.6K$18.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planAstoria Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Willamette Aviation

    Part not stated

    Aurora, OR·willametteair.com

    Published rates

    $129/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$74/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    Willamette Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $15,955

    range $13.7K$18.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planWillamette cost breakdown →
  • Trimble Aviation

    Part not stated

    McMinnville, OR·trimbleaviation.com

    Published rates

    $170/hr aircraft (wet)+$47/hr instructor

    Checked August 17, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses Trimble's published aircraft and instruction rates, dated May 15, 2026. It does not include the surcharges Trimble itemises separately on every invoice: a fuel surcharge of $12/hr on the Cessna and $36/hr on the Aztec, a $17/hr admin fee, and $10/hr each on instructor and aircraft for Sunday or night flying. Instruction with Jerry Trimble is $83/hr rather than $47.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,341

    range $14.9K$19.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planTrimble cost breakdown →
  • Sasquatch Aviation

    Part not stated

    Aurora, OR·sasquatch.aero

    Published rates

    $175/hr aircraft (wet)+$80/hr instructor

    Checked August 17, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses Sasquatch Aviation's published wet rates, which the school states include fuel with no surcharge. A Redbird FMX is $78/hr with the same $80/hr instruction and is not modeled.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,615

    range $16.9K$22.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planSasquatch cost breakdown →
  • Bend, OR·flybend.com

    Published rates

    $210/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked August 17, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses Leading Edge's published hourly rates, dated October 2025. The school also publishes course totals, which it says are averages influenced by students on the Central Oregon Community College degree programme. The rate sheet does not say whether fuel is included.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $21,265

    range $18.3K$24.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planLeading Edge cost breakdown →
  • Bend Aircraft

    Part not stated

    Bend, OR·bendaircraft.com

    Published rates

    $220/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses Bend Aircraft's published wet rates. A 10% discount applies to rental and instruction with deposits of $1,000 or more.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $21,985

    range $18.9K$25.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planBend Aircraft cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Creswell, OR·77S

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    About Time does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Independence, OR·7S5·aeroflightllc.com

    Published rates

    $140/hr aircraft+$60/hr instructor

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    No PilotBound estimate

    Aero Flight does not publish a list of ratings taught

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Hillsboro, OR·HIO·forge.aero

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    AeroForge does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Aurora, OR·UAO·auroraflighttraining.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Aurora Flight Training does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight school costs in Oregon, in numbers

Computed from the 8 Oregon schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 30 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$16,648
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 8 schools with published rates
$125 to $220
Published trainer rental, per hour
$30 to $80
Published instruction, per hour
8 of 38
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Oregon

Part 141 flight schools in Oregon

Flight schools by city in Oregon

  • Aurora · 4 schools, 2 with rates
  • Bend · 3 schools, 2 with rates
  • Hillsboro · 4 schools, 1 with rates

Airports with more than one Oregon flight school

Discovery flights in Oregon

3 Oregon schools publish a discovery flight price, median $125. See each price with its source

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Oregon flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Oregon?
Across the 8 Oregon flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $125 to $220 per hour and instruction $30 to $80 per hour, checked as recently as September 10, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $14,555 and $21,985, with a median of $16,648. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Oregon?
Twin Oaks Airpark in Hillsboro publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 8 Oregon schools listed here, $125 per hour for its Cessna 150 VFR, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Oregon flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Oregon is September 10, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 30 more schools in Oregon are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.