Rates partly published · Hillsboro, OR
Flight training at NW Wings Aviation
No instructor rate. NW Wings publishes rates for all 5 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked August 17, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, NW Wings Aviation at KHIO.
- Based at
- Portland-Hillsboro Airport(HIO)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL · IR · CPL · CFI · CFII
- Phone
- 503.446.8484
- Website
- nwwafly.com
Section 1What is published
NW Wings's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 152 (N2472J)1977 | $135/hr | 108 HP Lycoming O-235. No IFR. |
| Cessna 152 (N95995)1985 | $135/hr | 108 HP Lycoming O-235. No IFR. |
| Cessna 172 (N90558) | $170/hr | |
| Cessna 172 | $170/hr | |
| Diamond DA-42 (N449TS)2007 | $410/hr | Twin, two Austro E4-B diesels on Jet A, IFR capable, air conditioned. |
Airframes built 1977 to 2007. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 4, 2026.
Wet, but with an unquantified surcharge: "All rental rates are wet rates. A fuel surcharge is applied as a percentage of each hour charge to account for fluctuations in fuel prices." A Cirrus SR20 G7+ is in the fleet with "Contact for more information" in place of a rate.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not NW Wings's rates. The middle of what 8 Oregon schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $125 to $210 per hour.
- $170
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 8 schools with published rates.
- $65
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. NW Wings is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Oregon-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what NW Wings's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What does instruction cost per hour, and is multi-engine instruction in the DA-42 priced differently?Missing from their site
Every aircraft on the fleet page carries a rate and none of the fifteen other pages on the site prices an instructor.
What is the fuel surcharge percentage, and what does the Cirrus SR20 rent for?
The surcharge is described as a percentage of each hour charge and never given a number, and the Cirrus is the one tail with no price.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and NW Wings Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Section 6Nearby schools
2 other schools fly from Portland-Hillsboro Airport.
None of them publishes a rate, so every one is a phone call. HIO is the identifier to give when you ask.
- AeroForge Flight TrainingPublishes no ratesHillsboro
- TNG AviationPublishes no ratesHillsboro
8 Oregon schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Astoria AviationWarrenton, OR · Checked August 17, 2026$135/hr$65/hr instruction
- Bend AircraftBend, OR · Checked September 17, 2026$198/hr$58.5/hr instruction
- Leading Edge Flight AcademyBend, OR · Checked August 17, 2026$210/hr$65/hr instruction
- Sasquatch AviationAurora, OR · Checked August 17, 2026$175/hr$80/hr instruction
- Trimble AviationMcMinnville, OR · Checked August 17, 2026$170/hr$47 to $67/hr instruction
- Twin Oaks AirparkHillsboro, OR · Checked September 8, 2026$125/hr$70/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- AOPA flight school finder, NW Wings Aviation at KHIOChecked August 17, 2026
- The rates above
- NW Wings fleet pageChecked September 13, 2026
Are you NW Wings Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by NW Wings Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Oregon flight schools
- About Time Aviation · Creswell
- Aero Flight · Independence
- AeroForge Flight Training · Hillsboro
- Astoria Aviation · Warrenton
- Aurora Flight Training · Aurora
- Baker Aircraft · Baker City
- Bend Aircraft · Bend
- Brookings Flying Club · Brookings
- Captain Drake's Family Aerial Adventures · Cave Junction
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


