Published rates, sourced · Updated September 13, 2026
What flight training costs at Hillsboro flight schools
4 schools train out of Hillsboro. One publishes a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.
Twin Oaks Airpark in Hillsboro is the one Hillsboro school here with a full published rate card: $125 per hour for its Cessna 150 VFR plus $70 per hour instruction, a PilotBound private pilot estimate of about $15,435.
2 fields: Portland-Hillsboro Airport (HIO) and Stark's Twin Oaks Airpark (7S3). Whole state instead? Oregon flight schools
Flight school costs in Hillsboro, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Hillsboro school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $15,435
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $125/hr
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $70/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- 1 of 4
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Hillsboro
- Twin Oaks Airpark · $125/hr Cessna 150 VFR, Hillsboro
Airports with Hillsboro flight schools
- Portland-Hillsboro Airport (HIO)AeroForge Flight Training·NW Wings Aviation·TNG Aviation
- Stark's Twin Oaks Airpark (7S3)Twin Oaks Airpark
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Hillsboro
Twin Oaks Airpark
Part not statedHillsboro, OR·flytwinoaks.com
Published rates
$125/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Twin Oaks' published wet rates. It does not include the current hourly fuel surcharge ($5 to $20 depending on aircraft), which Twin Oaks bills separately per their rate sheet.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,435
range $13.3K – $17.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTwin Oaks cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
AeroForge Flight Training
Part 61Hillsboro, OR·HIO·forge.aero
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
AeroForge does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →NW Wings Aviation
Part not statedHillsboro, OR·HIO·nwwafly.com
Published rates
$135/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published
Wet, but with an unquantified surcharge: "All rental rates are wet rates. A fuel surcharge is applied as a percentage of each hour charge to account for fluctuations in fuel prices." A Cirrus SR20 G7+ is in the fleet with "Contact for more information" in place of a rate.
No PilotBound estimate
NW Wings does not publish an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →TNG Aviation
Part not statedHillsboro, OR·HIO·touch-n-goes.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
TNG Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Oregon cities
Common questions about Hillsboro flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Hillsboro?
- Twin Oaks Airpark in Hillsboro is the one Hillsboro school here with a full published rate card: $125 per hour for its Cessna 150 VFR and $70 per hour for instruction, checked September 8, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,435. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
- How current are these Hillsboro flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Hillsboro is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Hillsboro are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Hillsboro airports have flight schools?
- 2 fields carry the listed schools: Portland-Hillsboro Airport (HIO) with 3, and Stark's Twin Oaks Airpark (7S3) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Hillsboro without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Oregon school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy