What flight training costs at Portland Hillsboro (HIO)

3 schools train at Portland Hillsboro Airport, Portland. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.

Updated October 17, 2026 · All Oregon flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 3 of 3 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Portland Hillsboro$13.9K$18.4K
  • Hillsboro, OR·forge.aero

    $159/hr aircraft (wet)·$40/hr instructor

    Checked October 17, 2026·Source

    AeroForge gave its solo and ground rates to PilotBound directly on October 17, 2026: $159/hr for the RV-12iS solo, fuel included, and $50/hr for ground instruction. The $199/hr dual rate is on its site. Two lessons in the same week earn a 5% account credit and three or more earn 10%, about $179/hr dual for students who fly often.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $16,143

    range $13.9K to $18.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planAeroForge cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • NW Wings Aviation

    Part not stated

    Hillsboro, OR·HIO·nwwafly.com

    $135/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published

    Wet, but with an unquantified surcharge: "All rental rates are wet rates. A fuel surcharge is applied as a percentage of each hour charge to account for fluctuations in fuel prices." A Cirrus SR20 G7+ is in the fleet with "Contact for more information" in place of a rate.

    No PilotBound estimate

    NW Wings does not publish an instructor rate

    What to ask NW Wings
  • TNG Aviation

    Part not stated

    Hillsboro, OR·HIO·touch-n-goes.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    TNG Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask TNG Aviation

Estimates use the same method as every Oregon school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Discovery flights at HIO 1

Oregon discovery flights →
  • AeroForge Flight Training · Hillsboro

    About 30 minutes of briefing and about an hour of flight in the RV-12iS, from Hillsboro or Aurora.

    Checked October 17, 2026Source

    $199

Flight school costs at Portland Hillsboro, in numbers

Computed from the 1 Portland Hillsboro school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
$16,143
Published trainer rental, per hour
$159/hr
Published instruction, per hour
$40/hr
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
1 of 3

Lowest published trainer rates at Portland Hillsboro

Common questions about flight schools at HIO

How much does flight school cost at Portland Hillsboro?

AeroForge Flight Training in Hillsboro is the one Portland Hillsboro school here with a full published rate card: $159 per hour for its Van's RV-12iS and $40 per hour for instruction, checked October 17, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $16,143. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.

How current are these Portland Hillsboro flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at Portland Hillsboro is October 17, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools at Portland Hillsboro are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Can I take a discovery flight at HIO?

One of the 3 schools at Portland Hillsboro Airport publishes a discovery flight price: AeroForge Flight Training at $199, checked October 17, 2026. Each is the school's own published price, and the listing says what it includes.