Published rates, sourced · Updated September 10, 2026

What flight training costs at Bend flight schools

3 schools train out of Bend. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.

Across the 2 Bend schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $210 to $220 per hour and instruction $65 to $65, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $21,265 and $21,985, with a median of $21,625.

One field: Bend Municipal Airport (BDN). Whole state instead? Oregon flight schools

Flight school costs in Bend, in numbers

Computed from the 2 Bend schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.

$21,625
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
$210 to $220
Published trainer rental, per hour
$65/hr
Published instruction, per hour
2 of 3
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Bend

Part 141 flight schools in Bend

Airports with Bend flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 3 of 3 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Bend

lowest $18.3Khighest $25.1K
  • Lowest in ORLargest fleet

    Bend, OR·flybend.com

    Published rates

    $210/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked August 17, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses Leading Edge's published hourly rates, dated October 2025. The school also publishes course totals, which it says are averages influenced by students on the Central Oregon Community College degree programme. The rate sheet does not say whether fuel is included.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $21,265

    range $18.3K$24.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planLeading Edge cost breakdown →
  • Bend Aircraft

    Part not stated

    Bend, OR·bendaircraft.com

    Published rates

    $220/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses Bend Aircraft's published wet rates. A 10% discount applies to rental and instruction with deposits of $1,000 or more.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $21,985

    range $18.9K$25.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planBend Aircraft cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Specialized Aero Works

    Part not stated

    Bend, OR·specializedaeroworks.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Specialized Aero does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight schools in other Oregon cities

All Oregon flight schoolsFlight school costs by state

Common questions about Bend flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Bend?
Across the 2 Bend flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $210 to $220 per hour and instruction $65 to $65 per hour, checked as recently as September 10, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $21,265 and $21,985, with a median of $21,625. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Bend?
Leading Edge Flight Academy in Bend publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Bend schools listed here, $210 per hour for its Cessna 172, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 17, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Bend flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Bend is September 10, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school in Bend is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Bend airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Bend Municipal Airport (BDN) with 2. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Bend without one.

Estimates use the same method as every Oregon school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy