PilotBound estimate · Hillsboro, OR · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at Twin Oaks Airpark costs

Website flytwinoaks.com

Phone 503-451-3480

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Two-seat, GPS, VFR.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Twin Oaks Airpark

$15,435

range $13.3K$17.6K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Twin Oaks's published rates: Cessna 150 VFR at $125/hr + $70/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,615
at the hours students actually take$15,435

+$5,820 on Twin Oaks's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$13.3K$17.6K
Aircraft rental$9,000
Instruction$4,060
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$13,060
72 hrs in Cessna 150 VFR @ $125/hr + 58 dual @ $70/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Twin Oaks Airpark's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Twin Oaks Airpark's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Twin Oaks publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Cessna 172, basic panel (2 tails)160HP; N959HC is IFR with GTN 650TXi.$169/hr wet
Cessna 172, dual G5 + GTN 650 (3 tails)IFR; mix of 160HP and 180HP.$179/hr wet
Cessna 172 TAA (N65KD)1974Dual G5, GTN 650, GFC 500 autopilot, IFR.$185/hr wet
Cessna 172 G3X Touch (2 tails)G3X Touch PFD, GTN 750, GFC 500, TAA, IFR.$199/hr wet
Cessna 150 VFR (N16058)1972Two-seat, GPS, VFR.$125/hr wet
Cessna 150 IFR (5 tails)Two-seat, dual G5s, IFR-equipped.$135/hr wet
Piper Apache Geronimo (N164YF)1957Multi-engine trainer, IFR.$345/hr wet
Instruction$70/hr

Airframes built 1957 to 1974. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

This estimate uses Twin Oaks' published wet rates. It does not include the current hourly fuel surcharge ($5 to $20 depending on aircraft), which Twin Oaks bills separately per their rate sheet.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Twin Oaks does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $15,435.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Oregon-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $15,435All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $15,435 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Twin Oaks's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Twin Oaks Airpark?
Twin Oaks Airpark publishes $125 per hour for the Cessna 150 VFR and $70 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,435, in a range of $13,300 to $17,600. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Twin Oaks Airpark.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Twin Oaks Airpark?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Twin Oaks Airpark to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Twin Oaks Airpark a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Twin Oaks Airpark does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Twin Oaks Airpark's aircraft rates include fuel?
Twin Oaks Airpark publishes $125 per hour for the Cessna 150 VFR, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Twin Oaks Airpark?
Twin Oaks Airpark trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction is $70 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Twin Oaks Airpark's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Twin Oaks Airpark's published Cessna 150 VFR and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Twin Oaks Airpark. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Twin Oaks? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Other Oregon flight schools

All Oregon flight schoolsAll Hillsboro flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.