Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026

What flight training costs at Massachusetts flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 9 Massachusetts schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $126 to $183 per hour and instruction $65 to $100, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $15,507 and $20,555, with a median of $18,173.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 1–12 of 22 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Massachusetts

lowest $13.3Khighest $23.4K
  • Lowest in MA

    Plymouth, MA·alpha-1.com

    Published rates

    $126/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    Alpha One prices each aircraft on its own page. The instruction rate is not posted hourly; it is derived from the school's own October 2025 Private Pilot cost table (20 hours minimum instruction at $1,400), whose aircraft line independently matches the published C172 rate. An older cost table still on the site implies a lower figure, so confirm the current instruction rate with the school. The site does not say whether fuel is included.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $15,507

    range $13.3K$17.7K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planAlpha One cost breakdown →
  • Largest fleet

    Fitchburg, MA·fcaflightcenter.com

    Published rates

    $130/hr aircraft (wet)+$69/hr instructor

    Checked September 16, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $15,737

    range $13.5K$17.9K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planFCA cost breakdown →
  • Westfield, MA·flylugu.com

    Published rates

    $165/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Aircraft rates are from Fly Lugu's current fleet page, which does not say whether fuel is included. The instruction rate comes from the school's cost-breakdown PDF dated January 2024, which also shows older aircraft rates and an older fleet than the current page, so confirm instruction pricing with the school before budgeting.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,025

    range $15.5K$20.5K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planFly Lugu cost breakdown →
  • Fly Pioneer Valley

    Part not stated

    Turners Falls, MA·flypioneervalley.com

    Published rates

    $165/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Rates are wet, stated as including fuel. Fly Pioneer Valley is a single-instructor school; the aircraft is reserved for the pilots the instructor trains.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,025

    range $15.5K$20.5K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planFly Pioneer Valley cost breakdown →
  • Aloft Flight

    Part not stated

    Hyannis, MA·aloftflight.com

    Published rates

    $159/hr aircraft (wet)+$75/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    Rates are from the school's pricing sheet effective May 15, 2026: every airplane wet, $10/hr less in a ten-hour block. Instruction is $75/hr for Private and Commercial work, $85/hr with a CFII for instrument work and $100/hr with an ATP-level instructor; $90/hr in your own airplane. The sheet says the rates assume avgas at $7.50 and may change above $8.00. The Cirrus is listed as coming soon.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,173

    range $15.6K$20.7K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planAloft cost breakdown →
  • North Andover, MA·eagleeastaviation.com

    Published rates

    $170/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$80/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Eagle East publishes solo and dual rates per aircraft; the dual rate is the solo rate plus exactly the $80/hr instruction rate on every tail. The site does not say whether fuel is included.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,255

    range $16.6K$22K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planEagle East cost breakdown →
  • Mitiguy Aviation

    Part not stated

    Stow, MA·mitiguyaviation.com

    Published rates

    $175/hr aircraft (wet)+$75/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Rates are wet, fuel included, per Mitiguy's fleet page. One Cessna 172 carries a limited-time offer of $175/hr ($250/hr dual) against the standard $200/$275; the estimate uses the standard rates and the offer is disclosed here instead of being baked in.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,325

    range $16.6K$22K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planMitiguy cost breakdown →
  • Chatham, MA·chathamairport.com/stick-n-rudder-sightseeing-flight-school.html

    Published rates

    $183/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Stick'n Rudder publishes its Cessna 172 as a range, $168 to $183/hr; the estimate uses the top of the range. Rates exclude a fuel surcharge the school says fluctuates, so ask for the current all-in number. Dual instruction is published at $238 to $253/hr, the rental range plus exactly the $70 instruction rate.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,611

    range $16.9K$22.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planStick'n Rudder cost breakdown →
  • Norby Aviation, LLC

    Part not stated

    Southbridge, MA·norbyaviation.com

    Published rates

    $180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$90/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Norby's site does not say whether fuel is included. A $2,000 prepay deposit earns a $100 discount per the rates page, cash or check only. IFR instruction is $100/hr against the standard $90.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $20,555

    range $17.7K$23.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planNorby cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • AeroVenture

    Part not stated

    Mansfield, MA·1B9·aeroventure.org

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    AeroVenture does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Avier Flight School

    Part not stated

    Beverly, MA·BVY·avierflight.com

    Published rates

    $95/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·7 aircraft published

    EVERY RATE HERE IS DRY, so fuel is bought on top of all of them, and each aircraft page gives its fuel burn alongside the price: 8 gallons an hour for the older Cherokees, 9 for the Archers and the Diamond, 13 for the Mooney. At a typical 100LL price that adds meaningfully more per hour than the gap between the cheapest and the dearest Cherokee. No instruction rate appears anywhere on the site.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Avier does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Great Barrington, MA·GBR·berkshireaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Berkshire Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight school costs in Massachusetts, in numbers

Computed from the 9 Massachusetts schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 13 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$18,173
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 9 schools with published rates
$126 to $183
Published trainer rental, per hour
$65 to $100
Published instruction, per hour
9 of 22
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Massachusetts

Airports with more than one Massachusetts flight school

Discovery flights in Massachusetts

5 Massachusetts schools publish a discovery flight price, median $275. See each price with its source

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Massachusetts flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Massachusetts?
Across the 9 Massachusetts flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $126 to $183 per hour and instruction $65 to $100 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $15,507 and $20,555, with a median of $18,173. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Massachusetts?
Alpha One Flight Services in Plymouth publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 9 Massachusetts schools listed here, $126 per hour for its Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 5, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Massachusetts flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Massachusetts is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 13 more schools in Massachusetts are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.