Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026

What flight training costs at North Carolina flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 9 North Carolina schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $115 to $384 per hour and instruction $50 to $115, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $14,135 and $36,693, with a median of $18,745.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 1–12 of 61 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across North Carolina

lowest $12.2Khighest $41.8K
  • Cape Fear Aviation

    Part not stated
    Lowest in NC

    Fayetteville, NC·capefearaviation.com

    Published rates

    $115/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $14,135

    range $12.2K$16.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planCape Fear Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Largest fleet3 locations

    Concord, NC·flycarolina.com

    Published rates

    $125/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 9, 2026·Source

    Rates are the club's published member rates, which is what a Private student pays: the Student level costs $50 to join, carries no monthly dues and covers the 172s. Holders of a Private join at Bronze or above, $300 to join plus $200 a month with half of the dues credited to flying, and the retractables, the Cirrus, the Bonanza and the Baron need Silver or Gold. Instruction is $55/hr in the aircraft and on the ground. The school's cost page quotes a higher aircraft band of $137 to $190 an hour against the $125 to $152 its rate table prices the 172s at, and does not explain the difference. On wet aircraft, fuel bought away from base is credited back at the home field's price rather than what you paid. Every aircraft carries a 1.5 hour minimum per 24 hours when kept overnight. The Rock Hill aircraft are in South Carolina.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $14,565

    range $12.5K$16.6K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planFlyCarolina cost breakdown →
  • Laurinburg, NC·departureaviationservices.com

    Published rates

    $145/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$50/hr instructor

    Checked September 12, 2026·Source

    Departure publishes no rate card. Every figure here comes from its own Flight School Cost Estimates PDF, which prices four certificates in a Cessna 172 against both minimum and average hours. The aircraft alone is $145/hr, quoted as solo and as time-building. Instruction is NOT quoted directly: it is the $50/hr difference between the $195/hr flight time with a CFI and the $145/hr solo rate, and the same $50/hr appears as the ground-lesson rate on all four tables. High-performance and complex time is $240/hr. The PDF's own totals for a Private run $10,858 at minimum hours and $15,758 at average hours, and include the medical, written, checkride and examiner fees. Fuel basis not stated.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $15,715

    range $13.5K$17.9K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planDeparture Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Sanford, NC·execft.com

    Published rates

    $155/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $16,725

    range $14.4K$19.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planExecFT cost breakdown →
  • Sandhills Fliers

    Part not stated

    Southern Pines, NC·sandhillsfliers.com

    Published rates

    $175/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    These are Sandhills Fliers' MEMBER rates. Membership is not required to fly or train, but the Pilot Training membership is $40 a month and the non-member aircraft rates are not published, so a non-member cannot work out a price from this site. Instruction is $65/hr for members, $75/hr for non-members, and $55/hr for students in the Pinehurst ACES Part 141 programme, who also fly the Vulcanair at $185/hr instead of $220/hr. The Redbird FMX is $70/hr for members and is programmed as a Beechcraft Baron for multi-engine work, which is a simulator rather than a twin, so no multi is priced here.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,745

    range $16.1K$21.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planSandhills Fliers cost breakdown →
  • Victory Lane Aviation

    Part not stated

    Concord, NC·victorylaneaviation.com

    Published rates

    $185/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    Victory Lane also lists a fourth aircraft (N7952R) at $470/hr whose type it does not state, so it is excluded here pending confirmation. Its instruction line shows both $55 and $85/hr; this estimate uses the $55/hr rate, confirm which applies.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,885

    range $16.2K$21.5K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planVictory Lane cost breakdown →
  • Crystal Coast Aviation

    Part not stated

    Beaufort, NC·crystalcoastaviation.com

    Published rates

    $220/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 12, 2026·Source

    Crystal Coast publishes one aircraft and one instruction rate, in the same sentence, on its services page: the 172 is wet. Its air tours ($75, $100 and $125 for 30, 45 and 60 minutes) are sightseeing, not training.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $22,275

    range $19.2K$25.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planCrystal Coast cost breakdown →
  • Wilmington, NC·flycfca.com

    Published rates

    $255/hr aircraft (wet)+$100/hr instructor

    Checked August 20, 2026·Source

    Cape Fear publishes a lower wet aircraft rate when flying with an instructor (for example $225/hr instead of $255/hr on its 172s). This estimate uses the standard solo rental rates plus the school's published instructor rate.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $26,535

    range $22.8K$30.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planCape Fear cost breakdown →
  • Sanford, NC·flyeliteaircraft.com

    Published rates

    $384/hr aircraft (wet)+$115/hr instructor

    Checked September 16, 2026·Source

    Every aircraft here is a Cirrus and every rate is wet. There is no cheap trainer: the SR20 is the entry point and the SR22s are half as much again. Instruction is $115/hr, and Elite teaches the Cirrus Approach curriculum. It also flies from Raleigh-Durham in North Carolina and from two Charleston airports in South Carolina, which are not modeled here.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $36,693

    range $31.6K$41.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planElite Aircraft cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Durham, NC·HNZ·flightschoolnc.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    AERO'Connor does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Aerowood Aviation

    Part not stated

    Monroe, NC·EQY·aerowoodaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    Instruction is $55/hr for primary training and $60/hr once you are past a Sport or Private certificate, in anything that is not a Cirrus. In a Cirrus it is $140/hr with a Cirrus Training Center instructor or $165/hr with a Cirrus Standardized Instructor Pilot, whichever aircraft you fly and wherever you are in your training. All four figures switch to a day rate once an instructor has been with you long enough. No aircraft rate is published: Aerowood moved every rental to a dry rate plus fuel at the pump price on July 1, 2026 and has not posted the new figures.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Aerowood does not publish an aircraft rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Fayetteville, NC·FAY·aaavn.com

    Published rates

    $200/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·4 aircraft published

    THREE PRICES PER AIRCRAFT, which is the most unusual rate table in this state: a wet rate, a dry rate and a separate lower TRAINING rate. The wet rate is recorded. What the training rate includes, and whether an instructor is inside it, is not stated anywhere.

    No PilotBound estimate

    All American does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight school costs in North Carolina, in numbers

Computed from the 9 North Carolina schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 52 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$18,745
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 9 schools with published rates
$115 to $384
Published trainer rental, per hour
$50 to $115
Published instruction, per hour
9 of 61
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in North Carolina

Part 141 flight schools in North Carolina (12, first 8)

Flight schools by city in North Carolina

Airports with more than one North Carolina flight school

Discovery flights in North Carolina

5 North Carolina schools publish a discovery flight price, median $175. See each price with its source

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about North Carolina flight schools

How much does flight school cost in North Carolina?
Across the 9 North Carolina flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $115 to $384 per hour and instruction $50 to $115 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $14,135 and $36,693, with a median of $18,745. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in North Carolina?
Cape Fear Aviation in Fayetteville publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 9 North Carolina schools listed here, $115 per hour for its Cessna 150, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these North Carolina flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in North Carolina is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 52 more schools in North Carolina are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.