Published rates, sourced · Updated August 13, 2026
What flight training costs at Louisiana flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 6 Louisiana schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $138 to $200 per hour and instruction $41 to $79, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $14,689 and $20,693, with a median of $18,724.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Louisiana
Flightline Air Service
Part not statedLowest in LAPineville, LA·flightlineairservice.com
Published rates
$138/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$41/hr instructor
Checked August 13, 2026·Source
Flightline prices instruction by course, and its Private rate is the cheaper one: $41/hr for Private training and $45/hr for Sport. Instruction in a student's OWN aircraft is $50/hr in the air and $45/hr on the ground. Renters without their own aircraft insurance pay $10/hr more, and the school requires at least $30,000 of aircraft damage cover. Ground school is a one-time fee, $250 for sport and private and $280 for instrument. Multi-engine and float training are offered periodically by a visiting instructor at $375 and $275 per hour; the site does not say whether those figures include the instructor, so neither is modeled here. The site does not state whether rates include fuel.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,689
range $12.6K – $16.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planFlightline cost breakdown →Propell Air
Part not statedDeRidder, LA·propellairllc.com
Published rates
$140/hr aircraft (wet)+$75/hr instructor
Checked August 13, 2026·Source
Propell's rates include fuel and are billed off the Hobbs meter to the tenth of an hour. Complex and tailwheel endorsements are offered but no aircraft rate is published for either, so neither is modeled.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,805
range $14.5K – $19.2K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPropell Air cost breakdown →Fly By Knight
Part 141Hammond, LA·flybyknight.biz
Published rates
$161/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor
Checked August 8, 2026·Source
Fly By Knight's rates are wet and quoted plus tax; tax is not included in this estimate.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,343
range $15.8K – $20.9K
~78 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planFly By Knight cost breakdown →Neu Aviation
Part 61Shreveport, LA·neuaviation.com
Published rates
$180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor
Checked August 12, 2026·Source
Neu Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,105
range $16.4K – $21.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planNeu Aviation cost breakdown →ArkLaMiss Aviation
Part not statedRuston, LA·arklamissaviation.com
Published rates
$200/hr aircraft (wet)+$50/hr instructor
Checked August 13, 2026·Source
ArkLaMiss states its rates are wet, fuel included. Instruction is $50/hr, or $65/hr with the chief flight instructor; the estimate uses the standard rate. Headsets rent for $10 a session. The school names its trainers only as Cessna 172s and publishes no per-tail rate.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,675
range $16.9K – $22.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planArkLaMiss cost breakdown →Gulf Coast Aviation
Part 141Largest fleetNew Orleans, LA·gulfcoastaviation.com
Published rates
$180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$69/hr instructor
Checked August 6, 2026·Source
Gulf Coast publishes no rate card. Every figure comes from its own per-course cost breakdowns, and they are trustworthy because each total multiplies out exactly. The aeroplane and the instructor are billed SEPARATELY, which the solo lines make plain: a solo hour costs the same as a dual hour, and instruction is added on top. Instruction is priced per course and, unusually, gets CHEAPER as you advance: $69/hr for the Private, $72/hr for the Instrument, $65/hr for the Commercial and CFI, and $79/hr for multi-engine, the dearest tier. A full-motion simulator is $85/hr and is not modeled. Fuel basis not stated.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$20,693
range $17.8K – $23.6K
~78 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planGulf Coast Aviation cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Air Reldan
Part not statedAbita Springs, LA·L31
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Air Reldan does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Aviation Academy of Louisiana
Part 141New Iberia, LA·KARA·aviationacademyla.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Aviation Academy of Louisiana does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Cloud Chasers
Part not statedHammond, LA·KHDC
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Cloud Chasers does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Cubs Floats and Fun
Part not statedPineville, LA·2L0·cubsfloatsandfun.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Cubs Floats and Fun does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Eunice Flying Service
Part not statedEunice, LA·4R7
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Eunice Flying Service does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Furyious Aviation
Part not statedShreveport, LA·KDTN
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Furyious does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Louisiana flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Louisiana?
- Across the 6 Louisiana flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $138 to $200 per hour and instruction $41 to $79 per hour, checked as recently as August 13, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $14,689 and $20,693, with a median of $18,724. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Louisiana?
- Flightline Air Service in Pineville publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 6 Louisiana schools listed here, $138 per hour for its Cessna 172P, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 13, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Louisiana flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Louisiana is August 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 13 more schools in Louisiana are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.