Published rates, sourced · Updated August 6, 2026

What flight training costs at North Dakota flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 3 North Dakota schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $175 to $185 per hour and instruction $70 to $75, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $19,035 and $20,043, with a median of $19,325.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 9 of 9 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across North Dakota

lowest $16.4Khighest $22.8K
  • Minot Aero Center

    Part not stated
    Lowest in NDLargest fleet

    Minot, ND·minotaerocenter.com

    Published rates

    $175/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked August 6, 2026·Source

    Every rate includes fuel, stated on each aircraft. Ground instruction is charged at the same $70/hr as flight instruction. A 30-minute introductory flight starts at $99. The $70/hr rate is published inside the multi-engine package, and nothing on the site suggests a different rate for the singles, but it is worth confirming.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,035

    range $16.4K$21.7K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planMinot Aero cost breakdown →
  • Overland Aviation

    Part not stated

    Williston, ND·overlandaviation.com

    Published rates

    $175/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$75/hr instructor

    Checked August 6, 2026·Source

    Both rates come from Overland's Private Pilot guide, which is a PDF rather than a web page, and it does not say whether fuel is included. Ground instruction is charged at the same $75/hr as flight instruction. The guide also prices an online ground school at $180 and a private pilot kit at $150, and reaches an approximate all-in Private figure of $12,330 on 40 aircraft hours, which is the FAA minimum rather than what most students fly.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,325

    range $16.6K$22K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planOverland cost breakdown →
  • GFK Wings

    Part 61

    Grand Forks, ND·gfkwings.com

    Published rates

    $185/hr aircraft (wet)+$75/hr instructor

    Checked July 22, 2026·Source

    This estimate uses GFK Wings' standard wet rates. Prepaid blocks reduce aircraft rates by $5 per hour and instruction by $10 per hour per their published rate sheet.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $20,043

    range $17.2K$22.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planGFK Wings cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Bismarck Aero Center

    Part not stated

    Bismarck, ND·KBIS·bismarckaero.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Bismarck Aero does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Executive Air Taxi

    Part not stated

    Bismarck, ND·KBIS·executive-air.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Executive Air does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Fargo Jet Center

    Part not stated

    Fargo, ND·KFAR·fargojet.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Fargo Jet Center does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Langer Aviation

    Part not stated

    Mandan, ND·Y19·langeraviation.net

    Published rates

    $165/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked August 6, 2026·Source

    Aircraft rental is booked at $165/hr through the site's own booking page. A flying club runs alongside it: $750 in annual dues buys access to the same Cessna 172 at $110/hr wet. The $165 figure is the rate anyone can book without joining, which is why it is the one shown; the site does not say whether it too includes fuel, though the club rate is explicitly wet.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Langer Aviation does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Watford Aero Service

    Part not stated

    Watford City, ND·S25·watfordaero.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Watford Aero does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Western Edge Aviation

    Part not stated

    Dickinson, ND·KDIK·westernedgeaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Western Edge does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about North Dakota flight schools

How much does flight school cost in North Dakota?
Across the 3 North Dakota flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $175 to $185 per hour and instruction $70 to $75 per hour, checked as recently as August 6, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $19,035 and $20,043, with a median of $19,325. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in North Dakota?
Minot Aero Center in Minot publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 3 North Dakota schools listed here, $175 per hour for its Cessna 172L, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked August 6, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these North Dakota flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in North Dakota is August 6, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 6 more schools in North Dakota are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.