Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026

What flight training costs at West Virginia flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 4 West Virginia schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $115 to $165 per hour and instruction $25 to $85, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $12,105 and $17,445, with a median of $15,645.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 10 of 10 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across West Virginia

lowest $10.4Khighest $19.9K
  • Lowest in WV

    Clintonville, WV·eagleswings.net

    Published rates

    $115/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$25/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Eagles' Wings bills an insurance surcharge of $15 per lesson for the first three lessons or $400 per year, not included in this estimate. Dual in the school's Cessna 150 is published at $140 per hour wet; the instructor rate shown is the published dual minus solo difference.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $12,105

    range $10.4K$13.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planEagles' Wings cost breakdown →
  • Logan, WV·r1flying.com

    Published rates

    $140/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$40/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    Both figures come from the school's own training estimate tables, which price the airplane and the instructor per hour. The site never says whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. One airplane and an appointment-based schedule mean availability, not the hourly rate, decides how fast training goes.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $14,775

    range $12.7K$16.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planR1 Flying cost breakdown →
  • RSA Flight Training

    Part not stated
    Largest fleet

    Morgantown, WV·flyrsa.com

    Published rates

    $140/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 16, 2026·Source

    RSA bills a separate fuel surcharge on top of the $140/hr base rate (amount not published); renters also pay landing and airport fees. The estimate uses the published base rate only.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $16,515

    range $14.2K$18.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planRSA Flight Training cost breakdown →
  • River Town Aviation

    Part not stated

    Williamstown, WV·rivertownaviation.com

    Published rates

    $165/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,445

    range $15K$19.9K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planRiver Town Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Martinsburg, WV·MRB·aero-smith.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Aero-Smith does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Albatross Air

    Part not stated

    Beaver, WV·BKW·albatrossair.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Albatross Air does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Just Plane Adventures

    Part not stated

    Medley, WV·4WV4·justplaneadventures.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+$125/hr instructor

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    Flight instruction with the chief pilot is $125/hr. Every aircraft figure on the site is published "with Fuel and Pilot" (Cessna 172N $315/hr, Piper Comanche 260 $425/hr, AirCam on floats $495/hr), an airplane and a pilot in one number, so no airplane-only rate is recorded. The home field is a 2,000 ft grass strip; the site says longer-runway work uses nearby Grant County Airport.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Just Plane Adventures does not publish an aircraft rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Morgantown, WV·MGW·luvsflying.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    Flight or ground instruction is $70/hr and instrument training is $80/hr on the site's one rate table, which does not say which base it applies to. Airplane rentals are for LuvsFlying graduates only and the fleet page prices none of the four airplanes it shows.

    No PilotBound estimate

    LuvsFlying does not publish an aircraft rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Mountain Aero Club

    Part not stated

    Millwood, WV·I18·macflyingclub.org

    Published rates

    $75/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    The commercial page budgets the Private at 25 hours dual in the Cessna 150 at $125/hr plus 25 hours solo at $75/hr, so $75 is the airplane and $125 is the airplane with an instructor. The instructor alone is never priced, and the site does not say whether $75 includes fuel. The same page budgets instrument and time-building hours at $150/hr in an airplane it does not name. Membership dues are not published.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Mountain Aero Club does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Sky Ridge Aviation

    Part not stated

    Millwood, WV·I18·skyridgeaviation.com

    Published rates

    $130/hr aircraft+$50/hr instructor

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    The Tri-Pacer is $130/hr wet and an instructor adds $50/hr, both stated on the about page. Nothing on the site names a certificate or rating, and the services it does name are discovery flights, advanced avionics training and ferry flights.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Sky Ridge does not publish a list of ratings taught

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight school costs in West Virginia, in numbers

Computed from the 4 West Virginia schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 6 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$15,645
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 4 schools with published rates
$115 to $165
Published trainer rental, per hour
$25 to $85
Published instruction, per hour
4 of 10
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in West Virginia

Airports with more than one West Virginia flight school

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about West Virginia flight schools

How much does flight school cost in West Virginia?
Across the 4 West Virginia flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $115 to $165 per hour and instruction $25 to $85 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $12,105 and $17,445, with a median of $15,645. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in West Virginia?
Eagles' Wings Flight Training in Clintonville publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 4 West Virginia schools listed here, $115 per hour for its Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 10, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these West Virginia flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in West Virginia is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 6 more schools in West Virginia are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.