Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026
What flight training costs at Washington flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 21 Washington schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $114 to $225 per hour and instruction $45 to $115, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $13,985 and $25,245, with a median of $18,025.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Washington
Deer Park Air Center
Part not statedLowest in WADeer Park, WA·deerparkaircenter.com
Published rates
$125/hr aircraft (wet)+$45/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Rental rates are wet. Instruction is one rate for both ground and flight. Two older pages are still reachable on the site with January 2023 figures, a Warrior at $140 or $150 and instruction at $55 or $60; the aircraft rental page is the current card and is the one used here. All Sports Aviation, also listed, shares this field.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$13,985
range $12K – $15.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planDeer Park Air Center cost breakdown →Cascade Air
Part not statedKelso, WA·cascadeair-nw.com
Published rates
$115/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$58/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
The fleet page does not say whether fuel is included. A blog post on Cascade Air's own site describes the same rates as wet but prices the Cessna 150s $5/hr lower than the fleet page does.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,019
range $12.1K – $16K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCascade Air cost breakdown →SpanaFlight
Part not statedPuyallup, WA·spanaflight.com
Published rates
$115/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked August 17, 2026·Source
This estimate uses SpanaFlight's published wet rates, which include fuel and insurance. Its home page states the instruction rate twice, as $58/hr in one place and $65/hr in another; this estimate uses the $65 that appears in the rate table.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,425
range $12.4K – $16.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSpanaFlight cost breakdown →Columbia Pacific Aviation
Part not statedMoses Lake, WA·columbiapacificaviation.com
Published rates
$120/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Columbia Pacific's published wet rates, which are dated September 25, 2023. Fuel is included, and the school adds a surcharge of $6.69/hr on the Cessna 152 and $9.73/hr on the 172 "until fuel price drops back to normal amounts". The surcharge is not included in this estimate.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,495
range $12.5K – $16.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planColumbia Pacific cost breakdown →FLYIT Academy
Part not statedCamas, WA·flyitacademy.com
Published rates
$120/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
FLYIT publishes per-aircraft rates but no hourly instruction rate. The $60/hr used here is derived from its own private pilot cost breakdown, where 30 hours of flight instruction is $1,800 and 25 hours of ground instruction is $1,500. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,495
range $12.5K – $16.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planFLYIT cost breakdown →Aero Maintenance Flight Center
Part 61 & 141Largest fleetVancouver, WA·aeromt.com
Published rates
$120/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked August 17, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Aero Maintenance's published per-tail wet rates. Its welcome page summarises the fleet as $105 to $165/hr, but no aircraft on the fleet page is priced below $120.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,495
range $12.5K – $16.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAero Maintenance cost breakdown →Pavco Flight Center
Part 61 & 141Gig Harbor, WA·flypavco.com
Published rates
$114/hr aircraft (wet)+$69/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Pavco's standard published wet rates. Block rates run about $5/hr less.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,585
range $12.5K – $16.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPavco cost breakdown →47 North Aviation
Part not statedWenatchee, WA·47northaviation.com
Published rates
$140/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
47 North Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,225
range $14K – $18.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my plan47 North cost breakdown →Sundance Aviation
Part not statedRichland, WA·sundanceaviation.com
Published rates
$160/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$45/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Sundance's published retail rates. Club members pay $30/hr less on the aircraft, for a $95 joining fee plus $30/month. The training page prices instruction at $45/hr while a 2022 service brochure still on the site says $55/hr. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,505
range $14.2K – $18.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSundance cost breakdown →Arlington Flight Services
Part not statedArlington, WA·arlingtonflightservices.org
Published rates
$152/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+$70/hr instructor
Checked August 17, 2026·Source
Arlington's rates are dry, so fuel is billed on top and is not included in this estimate. The word "dry" appears on the three VFR aircraft's own pages; the two IFR-equipped tails are priced on the home page without restating it.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,379
range $14.9K – $19.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planArlington cost breakdown →Command Aviation
Part not statedBellingham, WA·commandaviation.net
Published rates
$165/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked August 17, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Command Aviation's published wet rates. A $1,500 block payment buys 10% off aircraft and instruction, and block payments by credit card carry a 3% fee. Aircraft rental is taxable and instruction is not, so a solo hour costs more than a dual one implies. Headset rental $10, full-service fuel fee $10.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,025
range $15.5K – $20.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCommand cost breakdown →Avian Flight Center
Part 61 & 141Bremerton, WA·avianflight.com
Published rates
$168/hr aircraft (wet)+$77/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Avian's published open wet rates. Avian Flying Adventures members pay about $20 to $29/hr less on most aircraft and $7/hr less for instruction, for a $500 buy-in plus $75/month.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,937
range $16.3K – $21.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAvian cost breakdown →
Flight school costs in Washington, in numbers
Computed from the 21 Washington schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 19 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $18,025
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 21 schools with published rates
- $114 to $225
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $45 to $115
- Published instruction, per hour
- 21 of 40
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Washington
- Pavco Flight Center · $114/hr Cessna 152, Gig Harbor
- SpanaFlight · $115/hr Cessna 150 / 152, Puyallup
- Cascade Air · $115/hr Cessna 150L, Kelso
- Columbia Pacific Aviation · $120/hr Cessna 152, Moses Lake
- FLYIT Academy · $120/hr Cessna 150, Camas
Part 141 flight schools in Washington
- Aero Maintenance Flight Center · Part 61 & 141, Vancouver
- Avian Flight Center · Part 61 & 141, Bremerton
- Mission Aviation Training Academy · Part 61 & 141, Arlington
- Pavco Flight Center · Part 61 & 141, Gig Harbor
- Regal Air · Part 61 & 141, Everett (Paine Field)
- Snohomish Flying Service · Part 141, Snohomish
Flight schools by city in Washington
- Arlington · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Bellingham · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Burlington · 2 schools, all with rates
- Deer Park · 2 schools, all with rates
- Spokane · 3 schools, 1 with rates
Airports with more than one Washington flight school
- Arlington Municipal Airport (AWO)Arlington Flight Services·Mission Aviation Training Academy·Northway Aviation
- Bellingham International Airport (BLI)Bellingham Aviation Services·Command Aviation·Shepherd Aero Pilot Training
- Boeing Field/King County International (BFI)Alternate Air·The Flight Academy
- Deer Park Airport (DEW)All Sports Aviation·Deer Park Air Center
- Pierce County-Thun Field (PLU)Safety in Motion Flight Center·SpanaFlight
- Seattle Paine Field International Airport (PAE)Chinook Flight·Regal Air
- Skagit Regional Airport (BVS)Cascade Aviation·Dyberg Aviation
- Spokane International Airport (GEG)No Limits Aviation·Northwest Flight Service
Discovery flights in Washington
9 Washington schools publish a discovery flight price, median $200. See each price with its source
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Washington flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Washington?
- Across the 21 Washington flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $114 to $225 per hour and instruction $45 to $115 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $13,985 and $25,245, with a median of $18,025. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Washington?
- Pavco Flight Center in Gig Harbor publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 21 Washington schools listed here, $114 per hour for its Cessna 152, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Washington flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Washington is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 19 more schools in Washington are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.