Published rates, sourced · Updated September 9, 2026

What flight training costs at Iowa flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 6 Iowa schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $91 to $190 per hour and instruction $45 to $120, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $11,537 and $19,825, with a median of $18,350.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 1–12 of 27 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Iowa

lowest $9.9Khighest $22.6K
  • Livingston Aviation

    Part not stated
    Lowest in IA

    Waterloo, IA·livingstonaviation.com

    Published rates

    $91/hr aircraft (wet)+$45/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    Rates are wet: Livingston states "fuel is included". Flight and ground instruction are the same $45/hr. The Cessna 152 is IFR equipped, which is unusual for a 152 and is why Livingston offers it as the budget route to an instrument rating.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $11,537

    range $9.9K$13.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planLivingston cost breakdown →
  • Oxford, IA·greencastleaeroclub.com

    Published rates

    $150/hr aircraft (wet)+$50/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    These are SHAREHOLDER rates. Green Castle is a flying club, and only shareholders may fly its aircraft; social members explicitly cannot. Becoming a shareholder costs a $150 application fee plus $60/month in dues, and the price of the share itself is not published, so the hourly rates here are not the full cost of flying at Green Castle. Rates are wet. Paying $1,000 into a rental account adds a 5% ($50) bonus. An AATD simulator is $40/hr and is not modeled.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $16,075

    range $13.8K$18.3K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planGreen Castle cost breakdown →
  • Largest fleet

    Pella, IA·flyclassicaviation.com

    Published rates

    $165/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$60/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    The rental page does not state whether these rates include fuel, so confirm before budgeting. Instruction is tiered: $60/hr primary, $65/hr advanced, $80/hr multi-engine, and $120/hr in the Cirrus, which also requires a transition course first. Ground instruction is $60/hr. The J-3 Cub, Citabria and Beech Duchess are dual-only, so they cannot be rented solo.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,735

    range $15.3K$20.2K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planClassic Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Ames, IA·centraliowaair.com

    Published rates

    $165/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    Rates are wet and billed on Hobbs time, and fuel bought away from Ames is reimbursed against a receipt. A rental kept more than one day carries a two-hour-per-day minimum, which matters for cross-country training. Central Iowa Air Service is also the FBO at Ames, so charter and maintenance share the same phones.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,965

    range $16.3K$21.6K

    ~78 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planCentral Iowa Air cost breakdown →
  • Exec 1 Aviation

    Part not stated

    Ankeny, IA·exec1aviation.com

    Published rates

    $190/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 9, 2026·Source

    Published as "$190 per Hobbs hour wet" for the Skyhawk and "$55 per hour for Flight Instruction or Ground School". A Redbird AATD simulator is $35/hr on its own, or $90 with one of their instructors, and it can log up to 3 hours toward a Private or 20 toward an Instrument. A 90 day checkout flight is required for new or inactive renters. Both rate sheets are dated October 2023, so confirm the figures before budgeting.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,245

    range $16.6K$21.9K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planExec 1 cost breakdown →
  • US Flight Co

    Part not stated

    Des Moines, IA·usflightco.com

    Published rates

    $190/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    US Flight Co prices its Cessna 172s as a range, $190 to $205/hr, and does not say which tail sits where in it, so the estimate uses the bottom of the range. Rates are wet and the school states there are no fuel surcharges. An AATD simulator at $60/hr can stand in for some instrument time and is not modeled. A Sport Pilot certificate is also offered, which this estimator does not model.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,825

    range $17K$22.6K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planUS Flight Co cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Monticello, IA·MXO·flyadvanceaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Advance Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • AirFlair

    Part not stated

    Maurice, IA·SXK·airflairinc.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    AirFlair does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Carroll Aviation

    Part not stated

    Carroll, IA·CIN·carrollaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Carroll Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Centerville AIR Techs

    Part not stated

    Centerville, IA·TVK·centervilleairtechs.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Centerville AIR Techs does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Estherville Aviation

    Part not stated

    Estherville, IA·EST

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Estherville Aviation does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Boone, IA·BNW·farnhamaviation.com

    Published rates

    $135/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·4 aircraft published

    The rate sheet does not say whether fuel is included. Two of the four airplanes are tailwheel, which is unusual for a training fleet this size and makes Farnham a real option for a tailwheel endorsement. The $80/hr figure also on the site is the maintenance shop rate, not instruction.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Farnham does not publish an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight school costs in Iowa, in numbers

Computed from the 6 Iowa schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 21 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$18,350
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 6 schools with published rates
$91 to $190
Published trainer rental, per hour
$45 to $120
Published instruction, per hour
6 of 27
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Iowa

Part 141 flight schools in Iowa

Airports with more than one Iowa flight school

Discovery flights in Iowa

5 Iowa schools publish a discovery flight price, median $100. See each price with its source

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Iowa flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Iowa?
Across the 6 Iowa flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $91 to $190 per hour and instruction $45 to $120 per hour, checked as recently as September 9, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $11,537 and $19,825, with a median of $18,350. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Iowa?
Livingston Aviation in Waterloo publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 6 Iowa schools listed here, $91 per hour for its Cessna 152, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Iowa flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Iowa is September 9, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 21 more schools in Iowa are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.