Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026

What flight training costs at Connecticut flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 5 Connecticut schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $135 to $200 per hour and instruction $50 to $80, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $16,735 and $20,981, with a median of $19,053.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 1–12 of 16 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Connecticut

lowest $14.4Khighest $23.9K
  • Lowest in CTLargest fleet

    Stratford, CT·threewing.com

    Published rates

    $135/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+$80/hr instructor

    Checked September 9, 2026·Source

    Rates are dry, so fuel is billed on top; the club packet puts it at roughly $80 per hour. Connecticut sales tax of 6.35 percent and an airport user assessment of 2 percent are also added. These are flying club prices: dues are $1,026 a year prepaid or $90 a month, and the monthly fee is waived for flight school students until their solo check ride. Instruction is $80/hr for both primary and advanced. Paying at least $2,000 in advance by cash or cheque earns a 3 percent discount.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $16,735

    range $14.4K$19.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planThree Wing cost breakdown →
  • Arrow Aviation

    Part not stated

    Danbury, CT·arrowaviationllc.com

    Published rates

    $166/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$80/hr instructor

    Checked September 16, 2026·Source

    Arrow Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,967

    range $16.3K$21.6K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planArrow cost breakdown →
  • Coastal Air

    Part not stated

    Groton, CT·flycoastalair.com

    Published rates

    $168/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$79/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    All four figures come from a single FAQ answer, and the site does not say whether fuel is included. Instruction is $79/hr in Coastal Air's aircraft and $90/hr if you bring your own, which is the reverse of the usual arrangement and worth knowing if you own one. Action Multi Ratings, on the same field, refers its single-engine students here and is listed separately as a partial.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,053

    range $16.4K$21.7K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planCoastal Air cost breakdown →
  • Been Flyin

    Part not stated

    East Haddam, CT·beenflyin.com

    Published rates

    $200/hr aircraft (wet)+$50/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    Aircraft rental is stated outright as a wet rate including fuel and oil, and is the aircraft ONLY, with instruction charged on top. Instruction is $50/hr for the Private and $75/hr for everything past it: the Instrument, Commercial and instructor ratings, technically advanced aircraft training, flight reviews, instrument proficiency checks, tailwheel and spin training. Flight and ground are charged at the same rate in both tiers. Both aircraft are the same price, and training in the technically advanced one is billed at the higher tier whatever the rating.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $19,675

    range $16.9K$22.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planBeen Flyin cost breakdown →
  • East Haven & Meriden, CT·hvnac.com

    Published rates

    $198/hr aircraft (wet)+$75/hr instructor

    Checked September 12, 2026·Source

    The school publishes a single training-aircraft rate of $198/hr including fuel, not per-tail pricing. It flies three Piper Warrior II PA28-161s as its main trainers plus a 150HP Cherokee, a 200HP Arrow for complex and commercial work, and a twin Seminole, but publishes no separate rate for the Arrow or the Seminole, so neither the complex nor the multi legs are priced here. It operates from two Connecticut fields under two names, Tweed New Haven and Meriden, with the same rates at both. Discounted rates are mentioned but not quantified.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $20,981

    range $18K$23.9K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planNew Haven Aviation cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Groton, CT·GON·actionmultiratings.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    Checked August 7, 2026·Source

    The one hourly figure on the site, $325/hr wet for recurrent training or a flight review in the Seneca, includes the instructor, so it is not an aircraft rate. Courses are sold at fixed prices instead: $3,295 to remove the centerline-thrust restriction from a Commercial Multiengine certificate, and $29,950 for a zero-to-120-hours program covering the Private single and multi plus the Instrument. The site's own footer is dated April 2019, so treat every figure on it as needing confirmation.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Action Multi does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Danbury, CT·DXR·businessaircraftcenter.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    BAC does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Chester Charter

    Part not stated

    Chester, CT·SNC·chester-charter.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Chester Charter does not publish an aircraft rate, an instructor rate, a list of ratings taught and an FAA part

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Darcy Aviation

    Part not stated

    Danbury, CT·DXR·darcyaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    Checked September 1, 2026·Source

    Prices its experiences (lake and skyline tours) and no training rate: the content API behind its single-page site carries programs for private, instrument, commercial and CFI with no hourly figure.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Darcy does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Good Flight

    Part not stated

    North Windham, CT·IJD·goodflight.org

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Good Flight does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Goodspeed Seaplane

    Part not stated

    East Haddam, CT·42B·goodspeedseaplane.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Goodspeed Seaplane does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Plainville & Oxford, CT·4B8·interstateaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Interstate Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight school costs in Connecticut, in numbers

Computed from the 5 Connecticut schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 11 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$19,053
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 5 schools with published rates
$135 to $200
Published trainer rental, per hour
$50 to $80
Published instruction, per hour
5 of 16
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Connecticut

Flight schools by city in Connecticut

Airports with more than one Connecticut flight school

Discovery flights in Connecticut

2 Connecticut schools publish a discovery flight price, median $237. See each price with its source

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Connecticut flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Connecticut?
Across the 5 Connecticut flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $135 to $200 per hour and instruction $50 to $80 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $16,735 and $20,981, with a median of $19,053. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Connecticut?
Three Wing Aviation Group in Stratford publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 5 Connecticut schools listed here, $135 per hour for its Piper Archer II, a dry rate, so fuel is billed separately on top, checked September 9, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Connecticut flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Connecticut is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 11 more schools in Connecticut are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.