Published rates, sourced · Updated September 10, 2026

What flight training costs at Maine flight schools

Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.

Across the 6 Maine schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $160 to $400 per hour and instruction $55 to $110, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $17,085 and $37,555, with a median of $19,395.

Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 12 of 12 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Maine

lowest $14.7Khighest $42.8K
  • Maine Coastal Flight

    Part not stated
    Lowest in ME

    Trenton, ME·mainecoastalflight.com

    Published rates

    $160/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$55/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    The rates page does not say whether fuel is included, so confirm before budgeting. Instruction is tiered: $55/hr normally, and $65/hr for instrument training or for instructing in a customer's own aircraft. Cirrus standardised instruction is a separate $800/day and is not modeled. Prepaying $1,000 or more earns a 5% bonus, and an introductory lesson starts at $249. The school flies from Bar Harbor Airport, which is in Trenton.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,085

    range $14.7K$19.5K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planMaine Coastal cost breakdown →
  • Owls Head, ME·flypenobscot.com

    Published rates

    $170/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor

    Checked September 8, 2026·Source

    Rates are wet, stated outright, and instruction is published as an addition to the rental rather than as a separate line, so a dual hour is the two figures added. Penobscot Island Air's main business is flying to Maine's offshore islands, and it also charters a BOAT at $200/hour, which is not an aircraft rate however it looks in a search.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,675

    range $16.1K$21.3K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planPenobscot Island Air cost breakdown →
  • Auburn, ME·chickadeeaviation.com

    Published rates

    $175/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Chickadee's site shows two wet rates for the 172: $175/hr on a site-wide banner headed "New Pricing Alert", which its own cost breakdown also uses, and an older $210/hr in one body section. This estimate uses $175. Neither is dated, so confirm before budgeting.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,745

    range $16.1K$21.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planChickadee cost breakdown →
  • Largest fleet

    Augusta, ME·mif.aero

    Published rates

    $185/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$75/hr instructor

    Checked September 10, 2026·Source

    Maine Instrument Flight does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $20,045

    range $17.2K$22.9K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planMIF cost breakdown →
  • Sanford, ME·flyingsma.com

    Published rates

    $220/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$80/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    Neither rate is published on a rate card: both come from Southern Maine's own Private Pilot cost breakdown, whose arithmetic checks out. Nothing says whether fuel is included. The training fleet is Cessna 172 Skyhawks alongside a 2004 Citabria and a Redbird simulator, and neither the Citabria nor the simulator carries a published rate. The maintenance shop's hourly labour rates appear elsewhere on the site and are not flight training.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $22,855

    range $19.7K$26.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planSouthern Maine cost breakdown →
  • Brunswick, ME·neaviationacademy.com

    Published rates

    $400/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$110/hr instructor

    Checked September 5, 2026·Source

    Both airplanes are Cirrus G7 Touch Plus models and the rates page does not say whether fuel is included. Instruction is $110/hr, or $125/hr with a Cirrus Standardized Instructor; the page does not say which tier a student in the school's own aircraft pays, so the base rate is used and the CSIP rate disclosed. Ground instruction is $110/hr and the G7+ simulator $100/hr. Half-day and full-day instructor rates are also published.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $37,555

    range $32.3K$42.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planNEAA cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • 207 Flight School

    Part not stated

    Oxford, ME·81B·207flightschool.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    207 Flight School does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Central Maine Aviation

    Part not stated

    Pittsfield, ME·2B7·centralmaineaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Central Maine Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Jackman Air

    Part not stated

    Jackman, ME·59B·jackmanair.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Jackman Air does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Morgan Aviation

    Part not stated

    Norridgewock, ME·OWK

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Morgan Aviation does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Portland, ME·PWM

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Portland Flight does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
  • Sugarloaf Aviation

    Part not stated

    Carrabassett Valley, ME·B21·sugarloafaviation.com

    Published rates

    aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Sugarloaf does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    Nothing to total without it.

    See what to ask themWhat they do publish →

Flight school costs in Maine, in numbers

Computed from the 6 Maine schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 6 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

$19,395
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 6 schools with published rates
$160 to $400
Published trainer rental, per hour
$55 to $110
Published instruction, per hour
6 of 12
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in Maine

Part 141 flight schools in Maine

Discovery flights in Maine

2 Maine schools publish a discovery flight price, median $128. See each price with its source

How these estimates work

We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.

So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.

Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.

These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Maine flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Maine?
Across the 6 Maine flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $160 to $400 per hour and instruction $55 to $110 per hour, checked as recently as September 10, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $17,085 and $37,555, with a median of $19,395. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Maine?
Maine Coastal Flight in Trenton publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 6 Maine schools listed here, $160 per hour for its Cessna 172, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Maine flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Maine is September 10, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 6 more schools in Maine are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.