Published rates, sourced · Updated September 10, 2026
What flight training costs at Rhode Island flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 3 Rhode Island schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $175 per hour and instruction $70 to $95, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $15,795 and $20,195, with a median of $19,965.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Rhode Island
Westerly Aviation
Part not statedLowest in RIWesterly, RI·flywesterly.com
Published rates
$130/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
Rates are wet, stated outright, and instruction is the same $70/hr for flight and ground. ONE AIRCRAFT, and it is a two-seater: a Cessna 150M. That is fine for the Private and for instrument work, since it is IFR capable, but a Commercial requires ten hours in a complex or technically advanced aircraft and this fleet has neither, so ask where those hours would be flown. A one-aircraft school also means availability, not the hourly rate, decides how fast you finish.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,795
range $13.6K – $18K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planWesterly cost breakdown →Horizon Aviation
Part 141Largest fleetWarwick, RI·horizonaviation.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (wet)+$95/hr instructor
Checked August 20, 2026·Source
Rates are wet (fuel included); rate sheet revised April 2025. One operator across Warwick, RI (KPVD) and Norwood, MA (KOWD).
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,965
range $17.2K – $22.8K
~78 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planHorizon cost breakdown →North Central Flight Center
Part not statedSmithfield, RI·ripilot.us
Published rates
$175/hr aircraft (wet)+$90/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Estimate uses North Central's standard rates. 10-hour block purchases lower the Warrior to $170/hr and instruction to $85/hr per their site.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$20,195
range $17.4K – $23K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planNorth Central cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Air Ventures Flying School
Part not statedSmithfield, RI·SFZ·airventuresri.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+$90/hr instructor
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
Instruction is $90/hr when flying Air Ventures' own aircraft and $105/hr when instructing in a customer's aircraft, and the same rate covers flight and ground. The page carries its own date of February 2025. No aircraft rental rate is published anywhere: the fleet page describes 1964 to 1976 Cherokee 140s with Garmin glass and WAAS GPS, and prices none of them. Air Ventures does state an average Private Pilot total of $20,342.50 over roughly 65 flight hours, and describes that as about $325 per LESSON rather than per hour, so it cannot be turned back into an hourly aircraft rate.
No PilotBound estimate
Air Ventures does not publish an aircraft rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Newport Aviation
Part not statedMiddletown, RI·UUU·flynewportri.com
Published rates
$160/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·2 aircraft published
One rate covers both Warriors and it is DRY, so fuel is charged on top. The rental agreement sets out cleaning, key replacement, battery and refuelling charges as well; those are penalties rather than prices for flying.
No PilotBound estimate
Newport Aviation does not publish an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Simmons Aviation Services
Part not statedWesterly, RI·warbirdexperience.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Simmons Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight school costs in Rhode Island, in numbers
Computed from the 3 Rhode Island schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $19,965
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 3 schools with published rates
- $130 to $175
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $70 to $95
- Published instruction, per hour
- 3 of 6
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Rhode Island
- Westerly Aviation · $130/hr Cessna 150M, Westerly
- Horizon Aviation · $150/hr Cessna 152, Warwick
- North Central Flight Center · $175/hr Piper Warrior, Smithfield
Part 141 flight schools in Rhode Island
- Horizon Aviation · Part 141, Warwick
Airports with more than one Rhode Island flight school
- North Central State Airport (SFZ)Air Ventures Flying School·North Central Flight Center
Discovery flights in Rhode Island
2 Rhode Island schools publish a discovery flight price, median $200. See each price with its source
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Rhode Island flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Rhode Island?
- Across the 3 Rhode Island flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $175 per hour and instruction $70 to $95 per hour, checked as recently as September 10, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $15,795 and $20,195, with a median of $19,965. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Rhode Island?
- Westerly Aviation in Westerly publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 3 Rhode Island schools listed here, $130 per hour for its Cessna 150M, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Rhode Island flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Rhode Island is September 10, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Rhode Island are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.