Published rates, sourced · Updated September 10, 2026
What flight training costs at Maryland flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 13 Maryland schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $80 to $365 per hour and instruction $30 to $125, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $10,475 and $35,905, with a median of $17,375.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Maryland
Navy Annapolis Flight Center
Part 141Lowest in MDEdgewater, MD·nafcflying.org
Published rates
$80/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$30/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
NAFC publishes per-course cost sheets rather than a rate card, so these hourly figures are derived from its own printed arithmetic: C152 solo $80/hr and dual $110/hr on the private course sheet, which gives $30/hr instruction, matching the sheet's own $30/hr ground briefing line. The Arrow appears only as dual time inside course totals ($160/hr dual on both the commercial and CFI sheets). Flies from Lee Airport (ANP) with a second base at Tipton Airport, Fort Meade (FME).
PilotBound estimate · Private
$10,475
range $9K – $11.9K
~78 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planNAFC cost breakdown →Columbia Training Centers
Part not statedFort Washington, MD·ctc-usa.org
Published rates
$120/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+$65/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Rates are dry: fuel is billed separately. Each flight also carries a $65 pre/post flight fee, shown on the rate card next to the hourly figures. Ground school is a separate $305 course.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,785
range $12.7K – $16.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCTC cost breakdown →Advanced Aviation Group
Part not statedLargest fleetFrederick, MD·advanced-aviation-group.com
Published rates
$130/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Fleet shown is the Frederick (KFDK) base; the Martin State (KMTN) base keeps its own fleet. CPL is listed as coming soon.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,795
range $13.6K – $18K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAdvanced Aviation cost breakdown →Piedmont Flight Center
Part not statedCalifornia, MD·fly-piedmont.com
Published rates
$135/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Piedmont Flight Center does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,865
range $13.6K – $18.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPiedmont cost breakdown →Freeway Aviation
Part 61Bowie, MD·freewayaviation.com
Published rates
$140/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Rates include fuel.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,935
range $13.7K – $18.2K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planFreeway cost breakdown →GT Aviation
Part not statedFort Washington, MD·gt-aviation.com
Published rates
$130/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+$80/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Rates are dry: fuel is billed separately (the airfield runs an $18/month fuel club). Instruction is $80/hr, $85/hr with a senior instructor; an older paragraph on the same page still says $65/hr, so confirm with the school. A $500/month club plan covers up to five 172 hours per week-average on a 4-month contract.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,375
range $14.1K – $18.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planGT Aviation cost breakdown →California, MD·somdaircraftrentals.com
Published rates
$160/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
The Cherokee's rate is published wet. Instruction is $60/hr on top of aircraft rental.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,375
range $14.9K – $19.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSOMD cost breakdown →Ready 9 Aviation Academy
Part not statedCalifornia, MD·r9aa.org
Published rates
$169/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
Training runs part-time and by appointment. The C140 rate is published wet. The Cessna A185F amphibious seaplane is $589/hr with a 10-hour SES add-on course at $6,500; the operator's older Southern Maryland Seaplanes site prices the same seaplane at $650/hr, so confirm which applies. Ready 9 is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,023
range $15.5K – $20.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planReady 9 cost breakdown →Harford Air Services
Part 61 & 141Churchville, MD·harfordair.com
Published rates
$175/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
The C172 CFI rate is derived from solo ($175) vs dual ($240). The Seneca publishes only a dual rate ($430/hr) with the multi-engine instructor bundled in.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,745
range $16.1K – $21.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planHarford Air cost breakdown →1World Aero
Part not statedFort Meade, MD·1worldaero.com
Published rates
$175/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$68/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
A $15/hr per-engine fuel surcharge is in effect on top of the aircraft rate. Instruction is tiered by instructor seniority, $67.50 to $80/hr; billing covers briefings and ground time at the same rate. Insured renters get rewards rates about $7.50/hr lower. Renter's insurance (about $335/yr) is required before solo or rental.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,890
range $16.2K – $21.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my plan1World cost breakdown →Washington International Flight Academy
Part not statedGaithersburg, MD·learntoflydc.com
Published rates
$180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor
Checked August 31, 2026·Source
One $180/hr rate covers most of the fleet (Cessna 172s, Piper Archers and Warriors); the 172XP is $190, the Arrow $205, the Seminoles $320 and the Seneca $340. Instruction is $70/hr on every certificate page including multi-engine. The Redbird FMX is $75/hr with cheaper 10- and 20-hour packages.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,395
range $16.7K – $22.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planWIFA cost breakdown →Dream Flight School
Part not statedWestminster, MD·dreamflightschool.com
Published rates
$199/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$99/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Dream Flight School does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$22,445
range $19.3K – $25.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planDream Flight cost breakdown →
Flight school costs in Maryland, in numbers
Computed from the 13 Maryland schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 13 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $17,375
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 13 schools with published rates
- $80 to $365
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $30 to $125
- Published instruction, per hour
- 13 of 26
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Maryland
- Navy Annapolis Flight Center · $80/hr Cessna 152, Edgewater
- Columbia Training Centers · $120/hr Piper Cherokee 140, Fort Washington
- Advanced Aviation Group · $130/hr Cessna 152, Frederick
- GT Aviation · $130/hr Cessna 172P / 172SP, Fort Washington
- Piedmont Flight Center · $135/hr Cessna 150, California
Part 141 flight schools in Maryland
- Harford Air Services · Part 61 & 141, Churchville
- Navy Annapolis Flight Center · Part 141, Edgewater
Flight schools by city in Maryland
- California · 3 schools, all with rates
- Fort Washington · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Frederick · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Gaithersburg · 4 schools, 1 with rates
Airports with more than one Maryland flight school
- Montgomery County Airpark (GAI)A.T.C. Flight Training Center·Pilot In Training Flight Academy·Washington International Flight Academy
- Potomac Airfield (VKX)Columbia Training Centers·GT Aviation·Supreme Aviation
- St. Mary's County Regional Airport (2W6)Piedmont Flight Center·Ready 9 Aviation Academy·SOMD Aircraft Rentals and Instruction
- Easton Airport, Newnam Field (ESN)Easton Aviation·Trident Aircraft
- Frederick Municipal Airport (FDK)Advanced Aviation Group·DC Aerobatics
- Hagerstown Regional Airport (HGR)Hagerstown Flight School·One On One Flight Training
- Martin State Airport (MTN)Brett Aviation·First Class Flight Academy
Discovery flights in Maryland
3 Maryland schools publish a discovery flight price, median $200. See each price with its source
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Maryland flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Maryland?
- Across the 13 Maryland flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $80 to $365 per hour and instruction $30 to $125 per hour, checked as recently as September 10, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $10,475 and $35,905, with a median of $17,375. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Maryland?
- Navy Annapolis Flight Center in Edgewater publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 13 Maryland schools listed here, $80 per hour for its Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 31, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Maryland flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Maryland is September 10, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 13 more schools in Maryland are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.