Published rates, sourced · Updated August 31, 2026

What flight training costs at California flight schools

3 schools train out of California. All of them publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate.

Across the 3 California schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $135 to $169 per hour and instruction $60 to $65, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $15,865 and $18,023, with a median of $17,375.

One field: St. Mary's County Regional Airport (2W6). Whole state instead? Maryland flight schools

Flight school costs in California, in numbers

Computed from the 3 California schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses.

$17,375
Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 3 schools with published rates
$135 to $169
Published trainer rental, per hour
$60 to $65
Published instruction, per hour
3 of 3
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)

Lowest published trainer rates in California

Airports with California flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 3 of 3 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across California

lowest $13.6Khighest $20.5K
  • Piedmont Flight Center

    Part not stated
    Lowest in MDLargest fleet

    California, MD·fly-piedmont.com

    Published rates

    $135/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor

    Checked August 31, 2026·Source

    Piedmont Flight Center does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $15,865

    range $13.6K$18.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planPiedmont cost breakdown →
  • California, MD·somdaircraftrentals.com

    Published rates

    $160/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor

    Checked August 31, 2026·Source

    The Cherokee's rate is published wet. Instruction is $60/hr on top of aircraft rental.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $17,375

    range $14.9K$19.8K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planSOMD cost breakdown →
  • California, MD·r9aa.org

    Published rates

    $169/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor

    Checked August 31, 2026·Source

    Training runs part-time and by appointment. The C140 rate is published wet. The Cessna A185F amphibious seaplane is $589/hr with a 10-hour SES add-on course at $6,500; the operator's older Southern Maryland Seaplanes site prices the same seaplane at $650/hr, so confirm which applies. Ready 9 is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit.

    PilotBound estimate · Private

    $18,023

    range $15.5K$20.5K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planReady 9 cost breakdown →

Flight schools in other Maryland cities

All Maryland flight schoolsFlight school costs by state

Common questions about California flight schools

How much does flight school cost in California?
Across the 3 California flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $135 to $169 per hour and instruction $60 to $65 per hour, checked as recently as August 31, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $15,865 and $18,023, with a median of $17,375. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in California?
Piedmont Flight Center in California publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 3 California schools listed here, $135 per hour for its Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 31, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these California flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in California is August 31, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which California airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: St. Mary's County Regional Airport (2W6) with 3. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in California without one.

Estimates use the same method as every Maryland school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy