Published rates, sourced · Updated September 5, 2026
What flight training costs at Frederick flight schools
3 schools train out of Frederick. One publishes a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
Advanced Aviation Group in Frederick is the one Frederick school here with a full published rate card: $130 per hour for its Cessna 152 plus $70 per hour instruction, a PilotBound private pilot estimate of about $15,795.
One field: Frederick Municipal Airport (FDK). Whole state instead? Maryland flight schools
Flight school costs in Frederick, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Frederick school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $15,795
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $130/hr
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $70 to $80
- Published instruction, per hour
- 1 of 3
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Frederick
- Advanced Aviation Group · $130/hr Cessna 152, Frederick
Airports with Frederick flight schools
- Frederick Municipal Airport (FDK)Advanced Aviation Group·DC Aerobatics
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Frederick
Advanced Aviation Group
Part not statedFrederick, MD·advanced-aviation-group.com
Published rates
$130/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Fleet shown is the Frederick (KFDK) base; the Martin State (KMTN) base keeps its own fleet. CPL is listed as coming soon.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,795
range $13.6K – $18K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAdvanced Aviation cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Bravo Flight Training
Part not statedFrederick, MD·bravoflighttraining.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Bravo does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →DC Aerobatics
Part not statedFrederick, MD·FDK·dcaerobatics.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
DC Aerobatics does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Maryland cities
- California · 3 schools, all with rates
- Fort Washington · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Gaithersburg · 4 schools, 1 with rates
Common questions about Frederick flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Frederick?
- Advanced Aviation Group in Frederick is the one Frederick school here with a full published rate card: $130 per hour for its Cessna 152 and $70 per hour for instruction, checked September 5, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,795. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
- How current are these Frederick flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Frederick is September 5, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Frederick are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Frederick airports have flight schools?
- One field carries the listed schools: Frederick Municipal Airport (FDK) with 2. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Frederick without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Maryland school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy