PilotBound estimate · Frederick, MD · Checked September 5, 2026

What flight training at Advanced Aviation Group costs

Website advanced-aviation-group.com

Phone 1 240-529-5500

Conveniently located near

  • Middle River, MD

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Advanced Aviation Group

$15,795

range $13.6K$18K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Advanced Aviation's published rates: Cessna 152 at $130/hr + $70/hr instruction, checked September 5, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,815
at the hours students actually take$15,795

+$5,980 on Advanced Aviation's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$13.6K$18K
Aircraft rental$9,360
Instruction$4,060
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$13,420
72 hrs in Cessna 152 @ $130/hr + 58 dual @ $70/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Advanced Aviation Group's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Advanced Aviation Group's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Advanced Aviation publishes

checked September 5, 2026
Cessna 152 (N6193L)1980$130/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 152 (N25269)1977$130/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (N65329)2004$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (N2473G)2001$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (N937SA)2003$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (N53010)1981$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Archer II (N1822H)1977$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Archer III (N415CA)$175/hr fuel basis not stated
TL Sport Sting S4 (N81FC)2023Light-sport aircraft.$140/hr fuel basis not stated
Diamond DA40 (N53SL)2005TAA glass single.$190/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172RG (N6419V)1980Retractable complex single.$190/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Arrow III (N30024)1978Retractable complex single.$190/hr fuel basis not stated
Tecnam P2006T (N60KK)2020Twin, multi-engine trainer. Was $290 on August 8, 2026 and $340 on the fleet page today. Instruction in this airplane $80/hr.$340/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Aztec (N362BP)1979Twin, multi-engine trainer. Instruction in this airplane $80/hr.$340/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $70/hr · instrument instruction $80/hr · commercial instruction $80/hr · CFI candidates $80/hr · CFII candidates $80/hr · multi-engine instruction $80/hr$70 – $80/hr

Airframes built 1977 to 2023. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Fleet shown is the Frederick (KFDK) base; the Martin State (KMTN) base keeps its own fleet. CPL is listed as coming soon.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Advanced Aviation's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Advanced Aviation does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

$200

Checked September 14, 2026

In an airplane. $250 in an R22 helicopter and $300 in an R44.

Discovery flight prices in Maryland

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $15,795.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Maryland-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $15,795All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $15,795 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Advanced Aviation's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Advanced Aviation Group?
Advanced Aviation Group publishes $130 per hour for the Cessna 152 and $70 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 5, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,795, in a range of $13,600 to $18,000. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Advanced Aviation Group.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Advanced Aviation Group?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Advanced Aviation Group to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Advanced Aviation Group a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Advanced Aviation Group does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Advanced Aviation Group's aircraft rates include fuel?
Advanced Aviation Group publishes $130 per hour for the Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 5, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Advanced Aviation Group?
Advanced Aviation Group trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Multi-Engine (AMEL) and Flight Instructor. Instruction runs $70 to $80 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Advanced Aviation Group's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Advanced Aviation Group's published Cessna 152 and instructor rates (checked September 5, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Advanced Aviation Group. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Advanced Aviation? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

One other school flies from Frederick Municipal Airport.

It does not publish a rate either, so that one is a phone call too. FDK is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other Maryland flight schools

All Maryland flight schoolsAll Frederick flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.