What flight training costs at Fort Washington flight schools
3 schools train out of Fort Washington. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.
One field: Potomac Airfield (VKX). Updated October 8, 2026 · All Maryland flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Columbia Training Centers
Part not statedLowest in MDFort Washington, MD·ctc-usa.org
$120/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)·$65/hr instructor
Checked October 8, 2026·Source
Rates are dry: fuel is billed separately. Each flight also carries a $65 pre/post flight fee, shown on the rate card next to the hourly figures. Ground school is a separate $305 course.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$14,785
range $12.7K to $16.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCTC cost breakdown →GT Aviation
Part not statedLargest fleetFort Washington, MD·gt-aviation.com
$130/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)·$80/hr instructor
Checked October 8, 2026·Source
Rates are dry: fuel is billed separately (the airfield runs an $18/month fuel club). Instruction is $80/hr, $85/hr with a senior instructor; an older paragraph on the same page still says $65/hr, so confirm with the school. A $500/month club plan covers up to five 172 hours per week-average on a 4-month contract.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$16,375
range $14.1K to $18.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planGT Aviation cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Supreme Aviation
Part not statedFort Washington, MD·VKX·supremeaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
Supreme does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Supreme
Estimates use the same method as every Maryland school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Fort Washington, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Fort Washington schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $15,580
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $120 to $130
- Published instruction, per hour
- $65 to $80
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 2 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Fort Washington
Airports with Fort Washington flight schools
Potomac Airfield VKX
Common questions about Fort Washington flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Fort Washington?
Across the 2 Fort Washington flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $120 to $130 per hour and instruction $65 to $80 per hour, checked as recently as October 8, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $14,785 and $16,375, with a median of $15,580. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Fort Washington?
Columbia Training Centers in Fort Washington publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Fort Washington schools listed here, $120 per hour for its Piper Cherokee 140, a dry rate, so fuel is billed separately on top, checked October 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Fort Washington flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Fort Washington is October 8, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school in Fort Washington is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Fort Washington airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Potomac Airfield (VKX) with 3. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Fort Washington without one.
