PilotBound estimate · Gaithersburg, MD · Checked August 31, 2026

What flight training at Washington International Flight Academy costs

Website learntoflydc.com

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

172R/N/P/Q/SP tails, one rate.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Washington International Flight Academy

$19,395

range $16.7K$22.1K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on WIFA's published rates: Cessna 172 at $180/hr + $70/hr instruction, checked August 31, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,815
at the hours students actually take$19,395

+$7,580 on WIFA's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$16.7K$22.1K
Aircraft rental$12,960
Instruction$4,060
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$17,020
72 hrs in Cessna 172 @ $180/hr + 58 dual @ $70/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Washington International Flight Academy's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Washington International Flight Academy's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

What WIFA publishes

checked August 31, 2026
Cessna 172 (x7)172R/N/P/Q/SP tails, one rate.$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Archer / Warrior (x13)PA-28-181 and PA-28-161 tails, one rate.$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172XP (N5405V)$190/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Arrow (PA-28R-201)Complex (retractable).$205/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Seminole (x2)Twin.$320/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Seneca (N1519T, PA-34-200)Twin.$340/hr fuel basis not stated
Redbird FMXSimulator.$75/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$70/hr

One $180/hr rate covers most of the fleet (Cessna 172s, Piper Archers and Warriors); the 172XP is $190, the Arrow $205, the Seminoles $320 and the Seneca $340. Instruction is $70/hr on every certificate page including multi-engine. The Redbird FMX is $75/hr with cheaper 10- and 20-hour packages.

Not published: the examiner's checkride fee, whether rates include fuel. Listed as missing rather than guessed.

Paying for it

Two ways to cover $19,395.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Scholarships you could apply forTop awards reach $22,200. Every dollar won is a dollar you never finance.
68
Lenders that cover $19,395All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Next leg

Turn this into a plan.

Your $19,395 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what WIFA's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Estimates use Washington International Flight Academy's published Cessna 172 and instructor rates (checked August 31, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. An honest range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Washington International Flight Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Common questions about Washington International Flight Academy

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Washington International Flight Academy?
Washington International Flight Academy publishes $180 per hour for the Cessna 172 and $70 per hour for instruction on it, checked August 31, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,395, in a range of $16,700 to $22,100. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Washington International Flight Academy.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Washington International Flight Academy?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Washington International Flight Academy to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Washington International Flight Academy a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Washington International Flight Academy does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Washington International Flight Academy's aircraft rates include fuel?
Washington International Flight Academy publishes $180 per hour for the Cessna 172, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked August 31, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Washington International Flight Academy?
Washington International Flight Academy trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL) and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $70 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Washington International Flight Academy's own published rates.

Other Maryland flight schools

All Maryland flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.