Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026
What flight training costs at Idaho flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 6 Idaho schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $150 to $200 per hour and instruction $30 to $78, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $16,435 and $20,835, with a median of $17,623.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Idaho
Glass Cockpit Aviation
Part not statedLowest in IDLargest fleet2 locationsBoise & Twin Falls, ID·glasscockpitaviation.com
Published rates
$155/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$50/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
Glass Cockpit Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,435
range $14.1K – $18.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planGlass Cockpit cost breakdown →American Made Aviation
Part 61Mountain Home, ID·americanmadeaviation.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
One Van's RV-12iS light sport airplane at $150/hr for instructional or personal use, with a $1,350 ten-hour pre-pay; the rates page does not say whether fuel is included. Instruction is $65/hr for Sport, Recreational and Private work and $75/hr for instrument, commercial, instructor and ATP work. Those advanced ratings are taught in a student's own aircraft, because a special light-sport aircraft cannot be used for an instrument rating, so only the Private is listed as taught here.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,945
range $14.6K – $19.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAmerican Made cost breakdown →Silverhawk Aviation Academy
Part 61 & 1412 locationsCaldwell, ID·silverhawkaviation.net
Published rates
$180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$30/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
Silverhawk publishes solo and dual rates; this estimate uses the published solo aircraft rate plus the instructor portion implied by its dual rate. Complex (172RG) and multi-engine training are quoted dual-only on their site.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,075
range $14.7K – $19.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSilverhawk cost breakdown →Snake River Flight Training
Part not statedCaldwell, ID·snakeriverflyers.com
Published rates
$163/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Rates are wet, plus Idaho sales tax. Rentals are restricted to enrolled students (no non-student rental). Instructor rates run $70-$80/hr depending on the instructor.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,171
range $15.6K – $20.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSnake River cost breakdown →Teton Aviation Center
Part not statedDriggs, ID·tetonaviation.com
Published rates
$182/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$71/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Teton Aviation's published 2026 rates. Instruction is priced by rating: $71/hr basic, $78/hr for instrument and commercial, and $83/hr for mountain and scenic work. Rental checkouts are for local pilots only. The site does not say whether fuel is included.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,597
range $16.9K – $22.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTeton Aviation cost breakdown →Coeur d'Alene Aviation
Part 61Hayden, ID·flycoe.com
Published rates
$200/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Rates are wet. The $70/hr instructor figure is derived from the school's published solo and dual rates, which differ by exactly $70 on all three types: $200 and $270 on the 172K, $180 and $250 on the Tecnam and the RV-12. The two light-sport types are the cheapest tails on the card and are not the default trainer here, since the school's certificate training is priced around the Cessna.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$20,835
range $17.9K – $23.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCoeur d'Alene Aviation cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Air-O-Drome Aviation
Part 61Caldwell, ID·EUL·airidaho.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Air-O-Drome does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Altitude Aviation Services
Part 61Mountain Home, ID·U76
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Altitude Aviation does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →AvCenter
Part 61Idaho Falls, ID·IDA·avcenter.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
AvCenter does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Aviation Specialties Unlimited
Part not statedBoise, ID·BOI·asu-nvg.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Aviation Specialties does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Copter Doctor Plus
Part 61Rexburg, ID·RXE
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Copter Doctor does not publish a website, an aircraft rate, an instructor rate and a list of ratings taught
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Granite Aviation
Part not statedSandpoint, ID·SZT·granite-aviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Granite does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight school costs in Idaho, in numbers
Computed from the 6 Idaho schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 16 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $17,623
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 6 schools with published rates
- $150 to $200
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $30 to $78
- Published instruction, per hour
- 6 of 22
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Idaho
- American Made Aviation · $150/hr Van's RV-12iS light sport, Garmin glass, Mountain Home
- Glass Cockpit Aviation · $155/hr Cessna 172, Boise & Twin Falls
- Snake River Flight Training · $163/hr Cessna 152, Caldwell
- Silverhawk Aviation Academy · $180/hr Cessna 172, Caldwell
- Teton Aviation Center · $182/hr Cessna 172XP, Driggs
Part 141 flight schools in Idaho
- Jetstream Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Boise
- Northern Air · Part 61 & 141, Bonners Ferry
- Ponderosa Aero Club · Part 61 & 141, Boise
- Silverhawk Aviation Academy · Part 61 & 141, Caldwell
Flight schools by city in Idaho
Airports with more than one Idaho flight school
- Boise Air Terminal/Gowen Field (BOI)Aviation Specialties Unlimited·Glass Cockpit Aviation·Jetstream Aviation·Ponderosa Aero Club
- Caldwell Executive Airport (EUL)Air-O-Drome Aviation·Silverhawk Aviation Academy·Skyborne Adventures·Snake River Flight Training
- McCall Municipal Airport (MYL)McCall Aviation·McCall Mountain/Canyon Flying Seminars
- Mountain Home Municipal Airport (U76)Altitude Aviation Services·American Made Aviation
Discovery flights in Idaho
2 Idaho schools publish a discovery flight price, median $165. See each price with its source
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Idaho flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Idaho?
- Across the 6 Idaho flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $150 to $200 per hour and instruction $30 to $78 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $16,435 and $20,835, with a median of $17,623. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Idaho?
- American Made Aviation in Mountain Home publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 6 Idaho schools listed here, $150 per hour for its Van's RV-12iS light sport, Garmin glass, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 5, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Idaho flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Idaho is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 16 more schools in Idaho are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.