Rates partly published · Rigby, ID
Flight training at Eastern Idaho Flying Club
No instructor rate. Eastern Idaho Flying Club publishes rates for all 2 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked October 12, 2026 against Eastern Idaho Flying Club site.
- Based at
- Rigby Airport(U56)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Phone
- (503) 830-5830
- Website
- easternidahoflying.club
Section 1What is published
Eastern Idaho Flying Club's own figures
Checked October 12, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 172M (N1442U, 1976)1976 | $129/hr | Wet, billed on tach time. 150 hp, Garmin 430W. The fleet page lists this tail at $120/hr; the cost table says $129. |
| Cessna 182P (N21017, 1972)1972 | $165/hr | Wet, billed on tach time. New Garmin stack, ADS-B in and out. |
Airframes built 1972 to 1976. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 12, 2026.
Every rate is a member rate, wet, and billed on tach time rather than clock time, which the club says comes to 75 to 90 percent of the hour flown. Joining is $625 with $165 monthly dues for the Cessna 172 alone, or $1,225 and $260 a month for both airplanes. Rates are set each January and move with fuel. Instruction is with a club-approved instructor, whose rate the site does not give.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Eastern Idaho Flying Club's rates. The middle of what 6 Idaho schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $150 to $200 per hour.
- $180
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 6 schools with published rates.
- $70
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Eastern Idaho Flying Club is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Idaho-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Eastern Idaho Flying Club's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Which club-approved instructors are taking students, and what does each charge per hour?Missing from their site
The club publishes its airplanes and its dues and says instruction is with a club-approved instructor, without a rate.
Is the Cessna 172 $120 or $129 an hour right now?
The club's cost table and its fleet page give two different figures for the same airplane, and the cost table says it may not be the latest.
Are the joining fee and the monthly dues on the site current?
Over a year the dues come to more than the difference between the two airplanes' hourly rates.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Eastern Idaho Flying Club gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Track your training at Eastern Idaho Flying Club.
Eastern Idaho Flying Club is in the PilotBound app. Choose Eastern Idaho Flying Club when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Section 6Nearby schools
One other school flies from Rigby Airport.
It does not publish a rate either, so that one is a phone call too. U56 is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Midway AviationPublishes no ratesRigby
6 Idaho schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- American Made AviationMountain Home, ID · Checked October 12, 2026$150/hr$65 to $75/hr instruction
- Coeur d'Alene AviationHayden, ID · Checked September 10, 2026$200/hr$70/hr instruction
- Glass Cockpit AviationBoise & Twin Falls, ID · Checked October 12, 2026$155/hr$50/hr instruction
- Silverhawk Aviation AcademyCaldwell, ID · Checked October 12, 2026$180/hr$30 to $50/hr instruction
- Snake River Flight TrainingCaldwell, ID · Checked September 10, 2026$163/hr$70/hr instruction
- Teton Aviation CenterDriggs, ID · Checked September 16, 2026$182/hr$71 to $78/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- Eastern Idaho Flying Club siteChecked October 12, 2026
- The rates above
- Eastern Idaho Flying Club home page, cost tableChecked October 12, 2026
Are you Eastern Idaho Flying Club? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Eastern Idaho Flying Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Idaho flight schools
- Air-O-Drome Aviation · Caldwell
- Altitude Aviation Services · Mountain Home
- American Made Aviation · Mountain Home
- AvCenter · Idaho Falls
- Aviation Specialties Unlimited · Boise
- Coeur d'Alene Aviation · Hayden
- Copter Doctor Plus · Rexburg
- Glass Cockpit Aviation · Boise & Twin Falls
- Granite Aviation · Sandpoint
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.

