Published rates, sourced · Updated September 16, 2026
What flight training costs at Texas flight schools
Every listing shows the school's own published rates with the source and date, next to an honest PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. Add any school to your plan to map your whole route on their real rates.
Across the 45 Texas schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $80 to $425 per hour and instruction $50 to $125, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $11,035 and $40,225, with a median of $17,875.
Search, filter by city, and sort by cost. Each card marks where it falls among the state's schools on cost. Estimates are ours, not quotes, and we are not affiliated with these schools. See a wrong number? Every card has a correct-this-listing link.
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Texas
A & W Aircraft
Part not statedLowest in TXFort Worth, TX·sycamorestrip.com
Published rates
$80/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$50/hr instructor
Checked August 18, 2026·Source
The rates are published on the airfield's own services page, which prices the aircraft by tail number and separates the VFR and IFR Cessna 172s. Its private-pilot package is built from the same figures and its arithmetic agrees with them. The page does not say whether aircraft rates include fuel, and it states that rates and terms are subject to change. Hangars and tie-downs are priced on the same page by the month and are not training costs. The site is served over plain http with no https.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$11,035
range $9.5K – $12.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planA & W Aircraft cost breakdown →Direct-to Pilot Academy
Part not statedSulphur Springs, TX·flydtpa.com
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,135
range $12.2K – $16.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planDirect-to Pilot cost breakdown →Pro Aircraft Flight Training
Part 61 & 141Fort Worth, TX·pro-aircraft.com
Published rates
$120/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Rates are published as wet. Block rates for 50 or 100 hours are offered but the discounted figure is not published, so this estimate uses the standard rates.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,785
range $12.7K – $16.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPro Aircraft cost breakdown →Pilots Choice Aviation
Part not statedGeorgetown, TX·pilotschoice.com
Published rates
$139/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Rates are published as wet. Pilots Choice takes $2/hr off the aircraft rate for cash or check. It also lists a $75/hr instruction tier that applies only to your own aircraft or ATP training, which this estimate does not use.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,573
range $13.4K – $17.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPilots Choice cost breakdown →Texas State Aviation
Part 61San Marcos, TX·tsaviation.com
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,795
range $13.6K – $18K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTexas State cost breakdown →Pilot Rise Flight School
Part 61Fort Worth & Dallas, TX·pilotrise.com
Published rates
$130/hr aircraft (wet)+$70/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Rates are wet (fuel included). A temporary $0.90/gal fuel surcharge applied as of May 11, 2026, and is not included in this estimate. Every dual flight also includes 0.6 hr of ground instruction (pre/post-flight briefing) billed at the instruction rate, which this estimate does not add.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,795
range $13.6K – $18K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPilot Rise cost breakdown →Fort Worth Flight School
Part not statedBurleson, TX·fortworthflightschool.com
Published rates
$145/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$55/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Instruction is $55/hr in a school aircraft (or $65/hr in your own aircraft).
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,005
range $13.8K – $18.2K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planFort Worth Flight School cost breakdown →Spinks Flight Center
Part not statedBurleson, TX·spinksflightcentertx.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$50/hr instructor
Checked August 18, 2026·Source
Instruction is $50/hr for private students and discovery flights and $60/hr for everything beyond the Private and for simulator work. The fleet page states that discounted aircraft rates are available to students only but does not publish them, so a student may pay less than the figures here. The page does not say whether aircraft rates include fuel. The AATD simulator is dual-only. A discovery flight starts at $200/hr with a one-hour minimum, and a no-show costs $50.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,075
range $13.8K – $18.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSpinks cost breakdown →Lytle Aviation
Part not statedAbilene, TX·lytleaviation.com
Published rates
$135/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)+$75/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Lytle Aviation's published dry rates. It does not include fuel or landing fees, which Lytle Aviation bills separately per their website.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,445
range $14.1K – $18.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planLytle cost breakdown →Hub City Aviation
Part 61Lubbock, TX·hubcityaviation.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
Rates are wet-equivalent: Hub City reimburses fuel up to $5.00 per gallon. Because 100LL usually sells above that, expect to absorb the difference on top of the hourly rate.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,655
range $14.3K – $19K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planHub City cost breakdown →KCPT Flyers
Part not statedCleburne, TX·kcptflyers.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
KCPT publishes wet rates (fuel, oil, and insurance included, billed on Hobbs time). A 10-hour prepaid block takes $10/hr off each aircraft. Instruction is published as a band rather than a figure, $45 to $60 an hour for flight and $40 to $55 for ground, varying by instructor and activity, and this estimate uses the top of the flight band. The school's homepage quotes the wider band of $45 to $65 for the same instruction. Landing fees away from KCPT, overnight tie-down, and damage deductibles are excluded.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,655
range $14.3K – $19K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planKCPT Flyers cost breakdown →Inspire Aviation
Part 61Spring, TX·inspireaviationtx.com
Published rates
$150/hr aircraft (wet)+$60/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Rates are published as wet. Inspire also publishes a block rate about $10/hr lower on each tail, which requires buying roughly 9 to 10 hours up front; this estimate uses the regular wet rates. The school states there are no enrollment or administrative fees.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$16,655
range $14.3K – $19K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planInspire cost breakdown →
Flight school costs in Texas, in numbers
Computed from the 45 Texas schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 95 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $17,875
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 45 schools with published rates
- $80 to $425
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $50 to $125
- Published instruction, per hour
- 45 of 140
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Texas
- A & W Aircraft · $80/hr Cessna 152, Fort Worth
- Direct-to Pilot Academy · $115/hr Cessna 150, Sulphur Springs
- Pro Aircraft Flight Training · $120/hr Cessna 152, Fort Worth
- Texas State Aviation · $130/hr Diamond DA20-C1, San Marcos
- Pilot Rise Flight School · $130/hr Cessna 150, Fort Worth & Dallas
Part 141 flight schools in Texas (16, first 8)
- Aerospace N3XT · Part 61 & 141, Wichita Falls
- Anson Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Sugar Land
- Aviator Air · Part 61 & 141, Grand Prairie
- Bario Aviation · Part 61 & 141, San Antonio
- Chennault Aviation Academy · Part 61 & 141, Conroe
- Delta-Qualiflight Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Fort Worth
- Flying Tigers Flight School · Part 61 & 141, Houston
- Gold Star Aviation · Part 61 & 141, Fort Worth
Flight schools by city in Texas
- Abilene · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Austin · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Burleson · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Burnet · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Conroe · 5 schools, 2 with rates
- Denton · 4 schools
- Fort Worth · 12 schools, 5 with rates
- Georgetown · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Houston · 5 schools, 4 with rates
- Pearland · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Antonio · 4 schools
- San Marcos · 4 schools, 1 with rates
- Waco · 2 schools, all with rates
Airports with more than one Texas flight school
- Fort Worth Meacham International Airport (FTW)Alpha Aero Academy·Delta-Qualiflight Aviation·Gold Star Aviation·Hodges Aviation·Pro Test·Rich Aviation Services·Stature Aviation
- David Wayne Hooks Memorial Airport (DWH)Fly N Go·Inspire Aviation·Texas Flight Aviation·The Flight School Inc.·United Flight Systems
- San Marcos Regional Airport (HYI)Austin Academy of Aviation·Black Hound Aviation·Texas State Aviation·Texas Top Aviation·Watch Me Fly Academy
- Denton Enterprise Airport (DTO)Above It All Aviation·Captain Joe's Flight Training·Four Winds Aviation·In The Pattern Flight School
- Abilene Regional Airport (ABI)Abilene Aero·Blevins Enterprises·Lytle Aviation
- Austin Bergstrom International Airport (AUS)Above and Beyond Aviation·AeroPro Flight Academy·Streamline Aviation
- Burnet Municipal Airport/Kate Craddock Field (BMQ)Aircraft Simulator Training·Austin Aviation Training·ProMark Aviation Services
- Conroe-North Houston Regional Airport (CXO)Five x Five Flight·General Aviation Services·Lone Star Flight Training
Discovery flights in Texas
22 Texas schools publish a discovery flight price, median $198. See each price with its source
How these estimates work
We apply one consistent method to every school: PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists (like the Private and Commercial) and FAA minimums where no credible public data exists (like the Instrument and CFI), times that school's published aircraft and instructor rates (linked on every card, with the date we verified them), plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. Holding the hours model identical across schools means the only thing that changes card to card is the school's actual rates.
So the number is PilotBound's estimate, not the school's quote, and it will differ from a school's own cost figures, which are often based on FAA-minimum hours. The schools do not set or endorse it.
Want a number tied to your own pace and aircraft choice? Run the estimator or read the full methodology.
These estimates are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Common questions about Texas flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Texas?
- Across the 45 Texas flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $80 to $425 per hour and instruction $50 to $125 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $11,035 and $40,225, with a median of $17,875. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Texas?
- A & W Aircraft in Fort Worth publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 45 Texas schools listed here, $80 per hour for its Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked August 18, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Texas flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Texas is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 95 more schools in Texas are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.