Published rates, sourced · Updated September 8, 2026
What flight training costs at Waco flight schools
2 schools train out of Waco. All of them publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate.
Across the 2 Waco schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $165 to $190 per hour and instruction $65 to $80, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $18,025 and $20,695, with a median of $19,360.
2 fields: Center Municipal Airport (F17) and Waco Regional Airport (ACT). Whole state instead? Texas flight schools
Flight school costs in Waco, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Waco schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses.
- $19,360
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $165 to $190
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $65 to $80
- Published instruction, per hour
- 2 of 2
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Waco
- Chiota Aviation · $165/hr Cessna 172N 6-Pack, Waco
- Waco Flight Training · $190/hr Piper Cherokee 180, Waco
Airports with Waco flight schools
- Center Municipal Airport (F17)Chiota Aviation
- Waco Regional Airport (ACT)Waco Flight Training
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Waco
Chiota Aviation
Part not statedLowest in TXLargest fleetWaco, TX·chiotaaviation.com
Published rates
$165/hr aircraft (wet)+$65/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Chiota's published wet rates. It does not include fuel surcharges or landing fees, which Chiota bills separately per their website.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$18,025
range $15.5K – $20.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planChiota cost breakdown →Waco Flight Training
Part not statedWaco, TX·wacoflight.com
Published rates
$190/hr aircraft (wet)+$80/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
Rates are wet. Figures are the retail rate; cash and block-account prices run a few dollars lower (the Cherokee 180 drops to about $180 to $185).
PilotBound estimate · Private
$20,695
range $17.8K – $23.6K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planWaco Flight cost breakdown →
Flight schools in other Texas cities
- Abilene · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Austin · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Burleson · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Burnet · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Conroe · 5 schools, 2 with rates
- Denton · 4 schools
- Fort Worth · 12 schools, 5 with rates
- Georgetown · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Houston · 5 schools, 4 with rates
- Pearland · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Antonio · 4 schools
- San Marcos · 4 schools, 1 with rates
Common questions about Waco flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Waco?
- Across the 2 Waco flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $165 to $190 per hour and instruction $65 to $80 per hour, checked as recently as September 8, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $18,025 and $20,695, with a median of $19,360. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Waco?
- Chiota Aviation in Waco publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Waco schools listed here, $165 per hour for its Cessna 172N 6-Pack, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Waco flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Waco is September 8, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Waco airports have flight schools?
- 2 fields carry the listed schools: Center Municipal Airport (F17) with one, and Waco Regional Airport (ACT) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Waco without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Texas school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy