Published rates, sourced · Updated September 8, 2026
What flight training costs at Houston flight schools
5 schools train out of Houston. 4 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.
Across the 4 Houston schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $154 to $260 per hour and instruction $60 to $100, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $17,375 and $26,895, with a median of $18,813.
3 fields: David Wayne Hooks Memorial Airport (DWH), Ellington Airport (EFD) and West Houston Airport (IWS). Whole state instead? Texas flight schools
Flight school costs in Houston, in numbers
Computed from the 4 Houston schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.
- $18,813
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 4 schools with published rates
- $154 to $260
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $60 to $100
- Published instruction, per hour
- 4 of 5
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Houston
- Texas Flight Aviation · $154/hr Cessna 172K, Houston
- Fly N Go · $160/hr Cessna 172N, Houston
- Flying Tigers Flight School · $185/hr Grumman Cheetah, Houston
- West Houston Airport Flight School · $260/hr Cessna 172S G1000, Houston
Part 141 flight schools in Houston
- Flying Tigers Flight School · Part 61 & 141, Houston
Airports with Houston flight schools
- David Wayne Hooks Memorial Airport (DWH)Fly N Go·Texas Flight Aviation
- Ellington Airport (EFD)Flying Tigers Flight School
- West Houston Airport (IWS)West Houston Airport Flight School
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Houston
Fly N Go
Part not statedLowest in TXHouston, TX·flyngotx.com
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,375
range $14.9K – $19.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planFly N Go cost breakdown →Texas Flight Aviation
Part not statedLargest fleetHouston, TX·txflight.com
Published rates
$154/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$71/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
This estimate uses Texas Flight's published block rates (a $1,000 minimum deposit). Their standard rate is about $10/hr higher per aircraft.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$17,581
range $15.1K – $20K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planTexas Flight cost breakdown →Flying Tigers Flight School
Part 61 & 141Houston, TX·flytigers.net
PilotBound estimate · Private
$20,045
range $17.2K – $22.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planFlying Tigers cost breakdown →West Houston Airport Flight School
Part not statedHouston, TX·westhoustonairport.com
Published rates
$260/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$100/hr instructor
Checked September 8, 2026·Source
West Houston publishes solo (aircraft) and dual (aircraft plus instructor) rates. This estimate uses the solo rate for the aircraft and the $100/hr difference for instruction.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$26,895
range $23.1K – $30.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planWest Houston cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Success Aviation, Inc
Part not statedHouston, TX·successaviation.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Success Aviation, Inc does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Texas cities
- Abilene · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Austin · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Burleson · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Burnet · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Conroe · 5 schools, 2 with rates
- Denton · 4 schools
- Fort Worth · 12 schools, 5 with rates
- Georgetown · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Pearland · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Antonio · 4 schools
- San Marcos · 4 schools, 1 with rates
- Waco · 2 schools, all with rates
Common questions about Houston flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Houston?
- Across the 4 Houston flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $154 to $260 per hour and instruction $60 to $100 per hour, checked as recently as September 8, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $17,375 and $26,895, with a median of $18,813. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Houston?
- Texas Flight Aviation in Houston publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 4 Houston schools listed here, $154 per hour for its Cessna 172K, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 8, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Houston flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Houston is September 8, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school in Houston is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Houston airports have flight schools?
- 3 fields carry the listed schools: David Wayne Hooks Memorial Airport (DWH) with 2, and Ellington Airport (EFD) with one, and West Houston Airport (IWS) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Houston without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Texas school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy