Published rates, sourced · Updated September 13, 2026
What flight training costs at Georgetown flight schools
3 schools train out of Georgetown. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.
Across the 2 Georgetown schools here with published rates, trainer rentals run $139 to $170 per hour and instruction $55 to $80, and PilotBound's private pilot estimate lands between $15,573 and $19,255, with a median of $17,414.
2 fields: Georgetown Executive Airport at Johnny Gantt Field (GTU) and Liberty Municipal Airport (T78). Whole state instead? Texas flight schools
Flight school costs in Georgetown, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Georgetown schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.
- $17,414
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $139 to $170
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $55 to $80
- Published instruction, per hour
- 2 of 3
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Georgetown
- Pilots Choice Aviation · $139/hr Piper PA-38-112 Tomahawk, Georgetown
- IFR Flight Training School · $170/hr Piper PA-28-181 Archer, Georgetown
Airports with Georgetown flight schools
- Georgetown Executive Airport at Johnny Gantt Field (GTU)Genesis Aero·IFR Flight Training School
- Liberty Municipal Airport (T78)Pilots Choice Aviation
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Georgetown
Pilots Choice Aviation
Part not statedLowest in TXLargest fleetGeorgetown, TX·pilotschoice.com
Published rates
$139/hr aircraft (wet)+$55/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
Rates are published as wet. Pilots Choice takes $2/hr off the aircraft rate for cash or check. It also lists a $75/hr instruction tier that applies only to your own aircraft or ATP training, which this estimate does not use.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$15,573
range $13.4K – $17.8K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPilots Choice cost breakdown →IFR Flight Training School
Part not statedGeorgetown, TX·flyifr.com
Published rates
$170/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$80/hr instructor
Checked September 10, 2026·Source
The published rate sheet is stamped "Revised April, 2023", so confirm the current figures. The page does not say whether aircraft rates include fuel. Instructor rates are tiered by aircraft type (piston $80, turboprop $90, jet $100); this estimate uses the piston rate. An ELITE BATD simulator is $35 or $70 per hour depending on model.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$19,255
range $16.6K – $22K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planIFR Flight Training cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Genesis Aero
Part not statedGeorgetown, TX·GTU·genesis-aero.com
Published rates
$160/hr aircraft+instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·4 aircraft published
Priced one tail per page rather than on a single rate card, which is why a fleet page shows nothing. No page states whether fuel is included, and none prices instruction.
No PilotBound estimate
Genesis Aero does not publish an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other Texas cities
- Abilene · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Austin · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Burleson · 3 schools, 2 with rates
- Burnet · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Conroe · 5 schools, 2 with rates
- Denton · 4 schools
- Fort Worth · 12 schools, 5 with rates
- Houston · 5 schools, 4 with rates
- Pearland · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Antonio · 4 schools
- San Marcos · 4 schools, 1 with rates
- Waco · 2 schools, all with rates
Common questions about Georgetown flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Georgetown?
- Across the 2 Georgetown flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $139 to $170 per hour and instruction $55 to $80 per hour, checked as recently as September 13, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $15,573 and $19,255, with a median of $17,414. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
- What is the cheapest flight school in Georgetown?
- Pilots Choice Aviation in Georgetown publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Georgetown schools listed here, $139 per hour for its Piper PA-38-112 Tomahawk, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 10, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
- How current are these Georgetown flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Georgetown is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school in Georgetown is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Georgetown airports have flight schools?
- 2 fields carry the listed schools: Georgetown Executive Airport at Johnny Gantt Field (GTU) with 2, and Liberty Municipal Airport (T78) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Georgetown without one.
Estimates use the same method as every Texas school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy