PilotBound estimate · Georgetown, TX · Checked September 10, 2026
What flight training at Pilots Choice Aviation costs
Website pilotschoice.com
Phone 512-869-1759
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Six of them. The school's stated primary trainer, two seats.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Pilots Choice Aviation
range $13.4K – $17.8K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Pilots Choice's published rates: Piper PA-38-112 Tomahawk at $139/hr + $55/hr instruction, checked September 10, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$5,878 on Pilots Choice's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Pilots Choice Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Pilots Choice Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Pilots Choice publishes
checked September 10, 2026Rates are published as wet. Pilots Choice takes $2/hr off the aircraft rate for cash or check. It also lists a $75/hr instruction tier that applies only to your own aircraft or ATP training, which this estimate does not use.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Pilots Choice does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Discovery flight
Section 4Paying for it
Two ways to cover $15,573.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Texas-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $15,573All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 5Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $15,573 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 6What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what Pilots Choice's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?
This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 7Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Pilots Choice Aviation?
- Pilots Choice Aviation publishes $139 per hour for the Piper PA-38-112 Tomahawk and $55 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 10, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,573, in a range of $13,400 to $17,800. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Pilots Choice Aviation.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Pilots Choice Aviation?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Pilots Choice Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Pilots Choice Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Pilots Choice Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Pilots Choice Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Pilots Choice Aviation publishes $139 per hour for the Piper PA-38-112 Tomahawk, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 10, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Pilots Choice Aviation?
- Pilots Choice Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL), Flight Instructor, Instrument Instructor and Multi-Engine Instructor. Instruction runs $55 to $65 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Pilots Choice Aviation's own published rates.
Section 8Sources
Estimates use Pilots Choice Aviation's published Piper PA-38-112 Tomahawk and instructor rates (checked September 10, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Pilots Choice Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Pilots Choice? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
Other Texas flight schools
- A & W Aircraft · Fort Worth
- Abilene Aero · Abilene
- Above and Beyond Aviation · Austin
- Above It All Aviation · Denton
- AeroPro Flight Academy · Austin
- Aerospace N3XT · Wichita Falls
- Aerotex Aviation · Odessa
- Aircraft Simulator Training · Burnet
- Airplanes & Attitude · McKinney
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.